HomeBreaking NewsSouth Africa Squad Announced For India Series; Dane van Niekerk, Chloe Tryon...

South Africa Squad Announced For India Series; Dane van Niekerk, Chloe Tryon Miss Out

South Africa squad announced for the upcoming series against India. Regular captain Dane van Niekerk and the veteran all-rounder Chloe Tryon will miss out due to their injuries. Sune Luus, who led the team against Pakistan at home last month, will lead the side against India too.

Alongside Dane van Niekerk and Tryon, fast bowler Masabata Klaas wouldn’t be featured in the series due to her 11th-hour injury. Howveer, the squad is mostly unchanged from what they had in their last tour against Pakistan. Notably, the entire team has reached India on Saturday (February 27) and they will now undergo a mandatory six-day quarantine period, followed by a two-day training program prior to the series.

The series comprises five One Day International matches and three Twenty20 International games as well, starting from March 7 with the ODI series. All eight games will take place at the Ekana Stadium in Lucknow.

“It is really exciting to finally have this tour confirmed and announce our squad that will do duty here in India, and we are looking forward to getting out there to see our ladies prove themselves under different playing conditions,” said Hilton Moreeng, the head coach of South Africa team. “India is always a wonderful place to tour and we are looking forward to the challenge that lies ahead.”

It is also noteworthy that, this series is going to be the return of Team India in the international circuit after nearly a year.

South Africa Squad:

Sune Luus (C), Ayabonga Khaka, Shabnim Ismail, Laura Wolvaardt, Trisha Chetty, Sinalo Jafta, Tasmin Britz, Marizanne Kapp, Nondumiso Shangase, Lizelle Lee, Anneke Bosch, Faye Tunniclife, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Mignon du Preez, Nadine de Klerk, Lara Goodall, Tumi Sekhukhune


 1st ODI – March 7

2nd ODI – March 9

3rd ODI – March 12

4th ODI – March 14

5th ODI – March 17

1st T20I –  March 20

2nd T20I – March 21

3rd T20I – March 23



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Recent article