HomeDomestic CricketSenior Women’s Inter Zonal One Day Trophy 2024 Day 1 Review –...

Senior Women’s Inter Zonal One Day Trophy 2024 Day 1 Review – Points Table, Top Run-Getters And Wicket-Takers

After the toughly contested Senior Women’s One Day Trophy 2024 that saw some remarkable matches, the next tournament on cards that all the fans were ardently waiting for was the Senior Women’s Inter Zonal One Day Trophy 2024.

Here’s a quick overview of everything that transpired on Day 1 of the Senior Women’s Inter Zonal One Day Trophy 2024:

North Zone vs South Zone- North Zone Won by 33 Runs

In the highly anticipated North Zone versus South Zone encounter at the GSFC Cricket Ground at Vadodara, North Zone registered a crucial 33-run victory to kickstart their proceedings on an auspicious note.

South Zone won the toss and elected to field first. North Zone had the prolific duo of Shweta Sehrawat and Shafali Verma open the batting and stitch a 61-run partnership. While Sehrawat was dismissed early on for 24 and so was Priya Punia, it was Shefali Verma and Tanisha Ohlan who stood out with their knocks and clinical running between the wickets.

Verma scored 64 off 59, striking at 108.47 was dismissed as Shreyanka Patil got the better of her. But the partnership between Ohlan and the new batter Sushma Verma stole the show. It was an 85-run partnership coming off 101 balls before Verma was out for 34.

Shafali Verma
Shafali Verma was in full flow. [Image: Getty]
With handy knocks of Amanjot Kaur’s 23, Tanisha Singh’s 12 but more importantly, a game-changing 97 by Ohlan ensured North Zone had a more than competitive 285/7 on the board. South Zone had Tarannum Pathan scalp three wickets with Arundathi Reddy chipping in with two wickets rounding up the bowling performance.

South Zone had the dependable duo of G Trisha and V Sneha Deepthi start well but losing Trisha and Yuvashri early on was far from ideal. Even as V Sneha Deepthi marched on, the batters Shrey and Sajana S could not capitalise and their dismissals hurt the prospects for South Zone. Subsequently, even Sneha Deepthi was out for a well-settled 49 and the onus fell on the lower middle order to deliver.

But it was the commendable knock of Arundathi Reddy that was the shining light as she sparkled with a remarkable 82 and with wickets tumbling, it was Shabnam’s 36 that ensured South Zone did not face a harsh reality test and succumbed to a 33-run defeat. North Zone had Sarla Devi, Mannat Kashyap, Amanjot Kaur, Priya Mishra and Shafali Verma scalp two wickets each to pave the way for this win.

East Zone vs West Zone- West Zone Won by 7 Wickets

West Zone’s sustained dominance saw them register a critical seven-wicket win versus East Zone at the Railway Ground. West Zone won the toss and elected to field first.

Deepti Sharma
Deepti Sharma was impressive. [Image: T20WorldCup]
East Zone had the duo of Mouchaity Debnath and Deepti Sharma open the batting. S Pokharkar got the first breakthrough as she dismissed Debnath and Sayali Satghare got rid of the dangerous #3, Richa Ghosh. With Deepti Sharma’s assured presence at the crease keeping things afloat, the young wicket-keeper batter Uma Chetry was the next to join in.

The duo was instrumental in sealing a 100-run partnership and were able to keep the tricky West Zone bowlers under their control. But as A A Patil got the prized wicket of Uma Chetry courtesy of a catch taken by Jemimah Rodrigues, East Zone was three wickets down with more impetus needed from the other end even as Deepti Sharma marched on.

The loss of Mita Paul and Ashwani in quick succession did not augur well but with knocks of 31 and 26 coming from Sushree Dibyadarshini and Jintimani Kalita, East Zone was in course for a good total. Deepti Sharma’s 109 meant West Zone ended up with 264/9 on the board. For West Zone, it was A A Patil who starred with the ball with support coming in from Sayali Satghare, S B Pokharkar and P Naik.

Jemimah Rodrigues starred with the bat on Day 1. [Image: Getty]
Jemimah Rodrigues starred with the bat on Day 1. [Image: Getty]
In the run-chase that followed, the Indian internationals- Yastika Bhatia and Smriti Mandhana laid the perfect platform with a massive 97-run partnership. Yastika scored a handy 42 before she was dismissed by Sushree Dibyadarshini and with Smriti Mandhana’s glittery 136 coupled with Jemimah Rodrigues’ 72; West Zone got across the line without much hassle. East Zone’s Saika Ishaque impressed with two wickets but the West Zone batters were on a whole different zone.

Central Zone vs North East Zone- Central Zone Won by 8 Wickets

In a low-scoring affair, Central Zone brushed aside North East Zone by eight wickets at the Darshanam Sports and Education Academy in Vadodara. Opting to field first on winning the toss, Central Zone was on a mission.

Restricting North East Zone to 100/8 in their 50 overs, barring D D Dutta who scored 36 and Monica’s unbeaten 13, none of the other batters came to the party which ensured a batting collapse. Central Zone had Meghna Singh scalp three wickets to orchestrate the collapse with Sonam Yadav and Sneh Rana also chipping in with two wickets each.

Sneh Rana
Sneh Rana (Photo by Phil Walter-ICC/ICC via Getty Images)

In the run-chase that ensued, Nuzhat Parween’s 51 coupled with knocks of 19, 6 by Srishti Sharma and A D Garg with Mona Meshram’s 15 ensured Central Zone comfortably chased down the total in a span of 23.1 overs.

Senior Women’s Inter Zonal One Day Trophy 2024: Points Table

Here’s what the points table looks like after Day 1 with Central Zone, West Zone and North Zone occupying the first three positions while South Zone, East Zone and the North East Zone will look to open their accounts in their next matches on 1st February.

Here's how the Points Table looks like after Day 1. [Image: BCCI's Website]
Here’s how the Points Table looks like after Day 1. [Image: BCCI’s Website]

Senior Women’s Inter Zonal One Day Trophy 2024: Top Run-Getters

The prolific run-getter, Smriti Mandhana tops the chart with her clinical knock of 136 followed by another centurion Deepti Sharma in the second position. Tanisha Ohlan, Arundathi Reddy and Jemimah Rodrigues occupy the next three positions.

Top 10 Run Getters after Day 1. [Image: BCCI's Website]
Top 10 Run Getters after Day 1. [Image: BCCI’s Website]

Senior Women’s Inter Zonal One Day Trophy 2024: Top Wicket-Getters

Meghna Singh is at the top position with three wickets and a jaw-dropping economy rate and average, followed closely by A A Patil and Tarannum Pathan with three wickets. With Sonam Yadav and Sneh Rana occupying the next two positions, the race to the top is only getting more exciting as the tournament progresses.

The Top Wicket Takers. [Image: BCCI's Website]
The Top Wicket Takers. [Image: BCCI’s Website]

Click Here to get the latest news related to women’s cricket. You can also check about Match predictions here. like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more updates.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Recent article