HomeBreaking NewsIndia Qualify for 2021 World Cup after ICC Announces Allocation of Points

India Qualify for 2021 World Cup after ICC Announces Allocation of Points

India have qualified for the Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021 which will take place in New Zealand, according to ICC. Eight teams in the 2017-2020 cycle of the ICC Women’s Championship had to play each other in a three-match series. The host – New Zealand and the next four highest-ranked teams on the points table qualify directly for the mega event. However, alongside India, the hosts New Zealand, Australia, England and South Africa have qualified.

The ICC made the announcement after the “Technical Committee (TC) has decided that teams will share points in all three series in the ICC Women’s Championship that did not take place during the competition window” – 2017 to 2020.

India had reached the final in the 2017 World Cup. Since then, they won 10 matches so far and lost 8 out of the 21 matches in the ongoing Championship. India last played in an ODI series in November 2019 against West Indies and won the series by 2-1. However, two other ICC Women’s Championship series didn’t take place due to the coronavirus pandemic. South Africa about to host Australia and Sri Lanka to host New Zealand in the championship.

Screenshot from ICC

“Australia (37 points), England (29), South Africa (25) and now India (23) have qualified by virtue of being the top four. Pakistan (19), New Zealand (17), West Indies (13) and Sri Lanka (5) complete the table,” an ICC release said.

Read here: Smriti Mandhana Shares Her Lockdown Routine

“The ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier is scheduled to be played from 3-19 July in Sri Lanka, this is subject to review due to the Covid-19 pandemic. The 10 teams vying for the three remaining places in the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021 will be the hosts, Sri Lanka, along with Pakistan and West Indies from the ICC Women’s Championship, the two other teams with ODI status, Bangladesh and Ireland, and the winners of the five regional qualifiers – Thailand (Asia), Zimbabwe (Africa), Papua New Guinea (East Asia Pacific), United States of America (Americas) and Netherlands (Europe),” the release again added.

Technical Committee on cancelled series between India vs Pakistan 

“The India-Pakistan series was originally scheduled in the sixth round of the competition, between July and November 2019, but despite the best efforts of both Boards, it was unable to take place,” the release added.

Team India
Team India (Image: AP Photo/Rafiq Maqbool)

“In respect of the India v Pakistan series, the Technical Committee concluded the series could not be played because of a Force Majeure event after the BCCI demonstrated that it was unable to obtain the necessary government clearances to allow India to participate in the bilateral series against Pakistan that forms part of the ICC Women’s Championship,” it further shared.

“Meanwhile, two other ICC Women’s Championship series have been cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. South Africa were to host Australia and Sri Lanka were to host New Zealand in the last round of matches,” the report concluded.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Recent article