HomeNewsICC T20 World Cup 2023: Injured Hasini Perera Ruled Out Of The...

ICC T20 World Cup 2023: Injured Hasini Perera Ruled Out Of The Tournament

Sri Lanka will be without the service of the experienced Hasini Perera as she is ruled out of the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup in South Africa due to injury. Perera who is 27 years old, has played 56 T20Is for Sri Lanka. She has scored 550 runs, having made her debut back in 2014. While Perera only has an average of 11.4 and a strike rate of 72.8, it is her experience that will be missed by the Sri Lankan unit.

Being a left-handed batter, Perera could have added a different dimension as well for the Sri Lankan team. She injured her finger during a practice session. Being ruled out of a world cup is one of the most heartbreaking incidents that can take place in a sportsperson’s career. We wish Hasini Perera a speedy recovery.

Sathya Sandeepani, who has played just one match in Sri Lankan colours, has been named as the replacement for Perera. Sandeepani’s debut came in Sri Lanka’s 2020 T20 World Cup game against India. She did not get to bat in that encounter but bowled an over of medium pace that went for 11. It is a huge opportunity for the 23-year-old from Galle.

Rashmi Silva and Madushika Methtananda are two players who have been left out of the team and have been replaced by Vishmi Gunaratne and Ama Kanchana. Rashmi and Madushika were in the squad that made it to the finals of the 2022 Asia Cup.

Sri Lanka Squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2023:

The ICC T20 World Cup 2023 begins on February 10 and will be held in South Africa. Sri Lanka are in Group A alongside New Zealand, hosts South Africa, defending champions Australia, and Bangladesh.

The Chamari Athapaththu-led side will play on the opening day of the competition. They lock horns with South Africa at Newlands.

Sri Lanka squad: Chamari Athapaththu (C), Oshadi Ranasinghe, Harshitha Samarawickrama, Nilakshi de Silva, Kavisha Dilhari, Anushka Sanjeewani, Kaushini Nuthyangana, Malsha Shehani, Inoka Ranaweera, Sugandika Kumari, Achini Kulasuriya, Tharika Sewwandi, Vishmi Gunaratne, Ama Kanchana, Sathya Sandeepani

Get the latest news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more updates.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Recent article