HomeReportsWPL 2024: Deepti Sharma-Grace Harris Star As UP Warriorz Beat Delhi Capitals...

WPL 2024: Deepti Sharma-Grace Harris Star As UP Warriorz Beat Delhi Capitals By Just 1 Run

WPL 2024: Following their one-run victory over Delhi Capitals at the Arun Jaitley Stadium on Friday, UP Warriorz changed the tide in a nail-biting encounter, widening the playoff race. Warriorz, hanging by the slightest thread of hope, beat the odds and seized victory from the jaws of loss, leaving DC devastated. UP successfully defended the lowest score in WPL history, neutralizing skipper Meg Lanning’s remarkable 60 (46).

Warriorz won the toss and chose to bat first; Alyssa Healy and Kiran Navgire, the Warriorz opening duo started the inning off with two singles and a four from the bat of Healy. Navgire too, hit the first ball of the second over for a boundary but she met her early dismissal on the very next delivery by Titas Sadhu. New down Deepti Sharma was off the mark with a boundary in the same over following which both Sharma and Healy contemplated each other with a boundary each in the fourth over.

Healy tried to rotate the strike and came up with a boundary each in the fifth and sixth over that summed the powerplay at 44 for the loss of 1. But she could only extend her inning till the ninth over bowled by Alice Capsey as dismissed her providing a catch to Annabel Sutherland only after Healy had hit another boundary to her account in the over before that. And that saw another wicket of Tahlia McGrath in quick succession as Arundhati Reddy peached her out in the 10th over of the WPL 2024 game.

But Sharma from the other end, buckled her shoes up coming up with two boundaries in the very next over to overcome the pressure followed by another in the 12th over along with one from Grace Harris. Things were not up to the mark even after consecutive fence-touching hits as the 14th over saw Harris’ dismissal as Radha Yadav got the breakthrough for her team along with Jess Jonassen overcoming things by taking the wicket of Sophie Ecclestone in the 17th over at just 8 off 7.

ALSO READ: WPL 2024: UP Warriorz (UPW) – SWOT Analysis

After some tiring thoroughfare of singles and Sharma’s hard-fought fifty, the inning finally came to an end with a six from her bat in the last before walking back to the pavilion. The target was set at 139 and the openers of Delhi Capitals Shafali Verma and Meg Lanning kicked the chase off with a boundary each in the very first over by Gouher Sultana and Verma came with her next in the third over after a double and a single in the second over before finally getting succumbed early in the fourth over as Saima Thakor bowled her stumps out.

The fifth over went silent but owing to the last over of the powerplay, Lanning swayed her bat at her immense calibre to collect three back-to-back boundaries followed by one each in the seventh and eighth over. Alice Capsey too joined hands with Lanning to move the chase to some more heights to get a boundary in the ninth over followed by four consecutive singles and there went Lanning to smash two more boundaries in the tenth over of the WPL 2024 game.

Alice Capsey was going well until now, but she met her unfortunate dismissal in the eleventh over before hitting her final six. But that couldn’t keep Lanning from getting closer to the target as she smashed three back-to-back boundaries in the 13th over in style after one in the previous over, but she too saw her dismissal in the 14th over at 60 as Sharma made the magic for her team once again but this time with the ball.

ALSO READ: WPL 2024: Delhi Capitals (DC) – SWOT Analysis

Annabel Sutherland and Jemimah Rodrigues were fresh on the ground, and both were trying to give some assistance to the chase with some fine running between the wickets along with a boundary from the bat of Sutherland followed by a maximum from Rodrigues which later saw the latter’s dismissal in the 18th over after the 17th over yielding just a single. But it seemed Jess Jonassen walked down set from the dugout to hit a six and a four in the 18th over only.

The match went to some more goosebumps as the 19th over witnessed three wickets in the name of Sutherland, Reddy and Shikha Pandey as Sharma came to the rescue another time. The match concluded at a dramatic end as the first ball saw a six from Radha Yadav’s bat followed by the only runs of the game and a double which later saw Yadav’s catastrophic dismissal on the third ball. And it was all done for Capitals as the last two balls saw two last wickets in the name of Jess Jonassen and Titas Sadhu as Warriorz won by just 1 run.

WPL 2024: UP Warriorz vs Delhi Capitals Match 15 Brief Scores

UP Warriorz 138/8 in 20 overs (Deepti Sharma 59, Alyssa Healy 29; Radha Yadav 2-16, Titas Sadhu 2-23) beat Delhi Capitals 137 in 19.5 overs (Meg Lanning 60, Jemimah Rodrigues 17; Deepti Sharma 4-19, Grace Harris 2-8) by 1 run.

Click Here to get the latest news related to Women’s Cricket. You can also check about Match predictions here. Like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more updates.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Recent article