HomeBreaking NewsWPL 2024: Auction For The Upcoming Season To Take Place On December...

WPL 2024: Auction For The Upcoming Season To Take Place On December 9 In Mumbai

In an official statement, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) disclosed that the 2024 Women’s Premier League (WPL 2024) players’ auction will occur in Mumbai on December 9.

Anticipated to be a thrilling occasion, the auction will set the tone for the second WPL edition, which is slated for February and March of the following year. The team led by Harmanpreet Kaur, the Mumbai Indians, won the first competition earlier this year.

The five teams of WPL 2024 — Mumbai Indians, Delhi Capitals, Gujarat Giants, Royal Challengers Bangalore, and UP Warriorz—have discharged 29 players and kept 60 players, including 21 foreigners. The auction is expected to bring about fresh innovations and transformations that will influence the WPL’s future course.

When it comes to keeping players, the Delhi Capitals have talents like Jemimah Rodrigues, Shafali Verma, and Jess Jonassen in a strong squad. Conversely, players such as Jasia Akhter and Aparna Mondal said goodbye to the Delhi team.

Powerhouses like Ashleigh Gardner and Beth Mooney have remained with the Gujarat Giants for the WPL 2024 season, strengthening their team for the next games. Kim Garth and Annabel Sutherland are two notable releases.

The Mumbai Indians appear ready to defend their championship thanks to a strong retained squad that includes Amelia Kerr and Harmanpreet Kaur. In the meantime, strategic decisions on player retention have also been made by UP Warriorz and Royal Challengers Bangalore for the WPL 2024.

WPL 2024: Here’s the list of retained and released players ahead of the auction

Delhi Capitals:

Retained Players: Alice Capsey, Arundhati Reddy, Jemimah Rodrigues, Jess Jonassen, Laura Harris, Marizanne Kapp, Meg Lanning, Minnu Mani, Poonam Yadav, Radha Yadav, Shafali Verma, Shikha Pandey, Sneha Deepthi, Taniyaa Bhatia, Titas Sadhu

Released Players: Aparna Mondal, Jasia Akhter, Tara Norris

Gujarat Giants:

Retained Players: Ashleigh Gardner, Beth Mooney, Dayalan Hemalatha, Harleen Deol, Laura Wolvaardt, Shabnam Shakil, Sneh Rana, Tanuja Kanwer.

Released Players: Annabel Sutherland, Ashwani Kumari, Georgia Wareham, Hurley Gala, Kim Garth, Mansi Joshi, Monica Patel, Parunika Sisodia, Sabbineni Meghana, Sophia Dunkley, Sushma Verma.

Mumbai Indians:

Retained Players: Amanjot Kaur, Amelia Kerr, Chloe Tryon, Harmanpreet Kaur, Hayley Matthews, Humairaa Kaazi, Isabelle Wong, Jintimani Kalita, Natalie Sciver, Pooja Vastrakar, Priyanka Bala, Saika Ishaque, Yastika Bhatia.

Released Players: Dhara Gujjar, Heather Graham, Neelam Bisht, Sonam

Royal Challengers Bangalore:

Retained Players: Asha Shobana, Disha Kasat, Ellyse Perry, Heather Knight, Indrani Roy, Kanika Ahuja, Renuka Singh, Richa Ghosh, Shreyanka Patil, Smriti Mandhana, Sophie Devine.

Released Players: Dane Van Niekerk, Erin Burns, Komal Zanzad, Megan Schutt, Poonam Khemnar, Preeti Bose, Sahana Pawar.

UP Warriorz:

Retained Players: Alyssa Healy, Anjali Sarvani, Deepti Sharma, Grace Harris, Kiran Navgire, Lauren Bell, Laxmi Yadav, Parshavi Chopra, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, S. Yashasri, Shweta Sehrawat, Sophie Ecclestone, Tahlia Mcgrath.

Released Players: Devika Vaidya, Shabnim Ismail, Shivali Shinde, Simran Shaikh.

Click Here to get the latest news related to women’s cricket. You can also check about  Match predictions here. like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more updates.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Recent article