Challenger Trophy: Yastika Bhatia, Pooja Vastrakar Star On Day 1

Challenger Trophy

Challenger Trophy: Yastika Bhatia, Pooja Vastrakar Star On Day 1

The quadrangular Challenger Trophy kicked off on December 4 at the Dr. Gokaraju Laila Ganga Raju ACA Cricket Complex at Mulapadu, Vijaywada. India B and India D registered victories on the first day of the tournament.

India B started their tournament with a 7-wicket victory over India A at the DVC Ground in Vijaywada. India B won the toss and was elected to field first. Batting first, India A put up a fairly competitive first-innings total of 234-all out in the stipulated 50 overs with the tenth wicket falling in the last ball of the innings. S S Shinde delivered an opening knock of 31 runs off 46 deliveries. Meghna Singh drew first blood, dismissing C H Jhansi for 11 runs the ninth over.

The highest contribution to India A’s innings came from the bat of Y H Bhatia who knocked 81 runs off 81 deliveries before she was dismissed by Rashi Kanojiya in the forty-first over. D D Kasat and Sushree Dibyadarshini totaled 35 and 30* off 65 and 22 balls respectively to India A’s total. The lower order failed to make any significant contributions with Mehak Kesar and SS Kalak getting dismissed for ducks. Chandu V was the top wicket-taker for India B, scalping three wickets, while K N Ramyashri settled for two.

Replying, the opening contributions of P A Patel (79) and S Subha (42) put India B on the track. Following the dismissal of S Subha by Mehak Kesar in the twenty-fourth over, Harleen B Deol knocked a commendable 62 off 67 to add to their chase. H Kazi (39*), and Taniya Bhatiya (8*) finished off the chase for India B, with them reaching the target in 48.5 overs with 7 wickets to spare. Simran Dil Bahadur took two wickets for India A, accounting for the dismissals of PA Patel and Harleen B Deol, while Mehak Kesar took one wicket.

Scores: India A 234 (Y H Bhatia 81, DD Kasa 35, Chandu V 3/30, K N Ramyashri 2/33) lost to India B 237/3 (P A Patel 79, Harleen B Deol 62, Simran Dil Bahadur 2/39) by 7 wickets.

India C faced India D at the CP groud, with the latter clinching a 40-run victory over the former. Opting to bat first, India D piled up a total of 251 for the loss of 8 wickets. S Meghana gave India D the headstart, delivering an opening contribution of 60 off 73 deliveries before Radha P Yadav brought an end to her knock in the twenty-fifth over.

Indrani Roy and Amanjot Kaur pitched in 31 and 32 off 43 and 47 deliveries respectively. Captain Pooja Vastrakar completed her half-century, persisting with an unbeaten 54 off 43 balls. Radha P Yadav took three wickets for India C, giving away 47 runs, while Tarannum Pathan and Captain Shikha Pandey settled for two each.

India C’s innings started moderately well, with openers Priya Punia and Dhara Gujjar knocking 32 and 33 off 39 and 57 deliveries respectively. Batting at number 3, Shipra Giri added a 43 off 71 to India C’s chase. The success of the top order was however insufficient to steer India C out of trouble. Following Shipra Giri’s dismissal in the thirty-eighth over, wickets fell fast for India C, with most of the batters walking barely managing to put up double-digit figures.

Anushka Sharma put in 38 off 60, however, she failed to get the required partnership needed to drive the chase. With Arti’s run out in the last over of the innings, India C was bundled out of 211 in 49.2 overs. Kanika Ahuja pulled off four wickets for India D, giving away 37 runs, while Rajeshwari settled for two. Captain Pooja Vastrakar, Saika Ishaque, and Ayushi Soni claimed one wicket apiece against India C.

Scores: India D 251/8 (S Meghana 60, Pooja Vastrakar 54*, Radha P Yadav 3/47, Shikha Pandey 2/48) won against India C 211 (Shipra Giri 43, Anushka Sharma 38, Kanika Ahuja 4/37, Rajeshwari 2/39) by 40 runs.