After the third One-Day International between India and Bangladesh finished in a thrilling stalemate at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur on Saturday, skipper Harmanpreet Kaur lashed out at the umpiring standards.
Harmanpreet Kaur was enraged by the decision of the on-field umpire to dismiss her at the Shere Bangla National Stadium. While looking for a sweep shot, the Indian skipper got wedged in front of the stumps. The judgement was made in favour of the hosts by the on-field umpire.
The incident occurred during India’s 34th over of their innings. In Nahida Akter’s bowling, Kaur attempted a sweep shot, but the ball hit her pads and went right into the clutches of the slip fielder. Before returning to the pavilion, Harmanpreet Kaur lost her calm and struck the stumps with her bat.
Watch: Harmanpreet Kaur did an unthinkable job!
As she walked off the pitch, she shouted at the umpire and swung with her bat, as if she had smacked the ball before it reached her pad. Nonetheless, the ball had soared up to the slip fielder after hitting Kaur, who had comfortably collected the ball. On the scorecard, the official reason for dismissal was LBW.
Despite her obvious displeasure with the decision, Harmanpreet Kaur gave the audience a thumbs-up as she approached the boundary rope. If the match referee determines that Kaur violated Article 2.2, she may incur Suspension Points and/or a penalty deducted from her match fee.
Moreover, under the ICC Code of Conduct, the Article 2.2 entails “Abuse of cricket equipment or clothing, ground equipment or fixtures and fittings during an International Match,” that forthrightly states that “any action(s) outside the course of normal cricket actions, such as hitting or kicking the wickets” are prohibited.
During India’s pursuit of 226, there were three disputed decisions. When the ball smacked her high on the back leg, Yastika Bhatia was stunned to be given leg-before by Sultana Khatun. The left-hander paused in her crease, stunned, before going back to the bench.
India’s angst reached greater heights when skipper Harmanpreet Kaur banged the stumps while swinging her bat after being declared caught out when the ball appeared to have gone off her pads.
To make matters worse, Bangladesh registered a dramatic tie after Meghna Singh was caught behind while attempting to pounce on the ball to score the winning runs. She was extremely furious with the decision when India was bowled out for 225, resulting in a 1-1 series tie.
Unfortunately, there was no DRS system throughout India’s visit to Bangladesh, which featured three T20Is and the same number of ODIs. Furthermore, there was no live broadcast of the series, consequently, fans could only catch up on the action via the live stream on the Bangladesh Cricket YouTube channel.