HomeReportsWBBL 2023 Final: Adelaide Strikers Edge Out Brisbane Heat To Seal Their...

WBBL 2023 Final: Adelaide Strikers Edge Out Brisbane Heat To Seal Their Second Consecutive Title

Adelaide Strikers once again showed why they are an outfit that not only reeks of consistency but is a hallmark of a dominant team as they handed a close three runs defeat to Brisbane Heat in the finals of the Women’s Big Bash League 2023 (WBBL 2023) at the Adelaide Oval, here on Saturday.

Defending a total of 125/5, Adelaide Strikers put up a confident bowling show that handed them their second consecutive WBBL title. Adelaide Strikers won the toss and decided to bat first in their home conditions, a decision they will certainly not ponder upon. Off to a slow and sluggish start, they were rocked early on with the dismissal of Katie Mack as the consistent Nicola Hancock struck early.

It was then the duo of Laura Wolvaardt and Tahlia McGrath who stuck it out and patiently batted with boundaries and quick runs registered. It was a commendable effort that saw the duo slowly regain momentum and take away the game from the Heat.

It was then Nicola Hancock who came back to the attack and got the prized wicket of the Strikers’ skipper Tahlia McGrath for a well-played 38. Laura Wolvaardt was then joined by Bridget Patterson who looked to get going from the very first ball.

But as Wolvaardt looked to accelerate even more, she was undone by Jess Jonassen courtesy of a brilliant stumping effected by Georgia Redmayne. Patterson’s laboured 11 off 17 came to an end as Georgia Voll got rid of her and Madeline Penna’s 9 also came to an end with Hancock dismissing her.

With Georgia Adams’ 6 and Amanda-Jade Wellington’s 9; Adelaide Strikers ended with 125/5 in the WBBL 2023 final. Due credit to Brisbane Heat’s bowling as Hancock scalped three wickets and with Georgia Voll and Jess Jonassen scalping one each; it was a memorable bowling performance.

A target of 126 was not going to be hard as the opening duo of Grace Harris and Georgia Redmayne gave an explosive start to the proceedings. Grace Harris looked in fine touch striking the ball with a Midas touch.

The fireworks came to an end as Grace Harris was dismissed by Jemma Barsby in what was a big setback. Then, the settled Georgia Redmayne was dismissed by Amanda-Jade Wellington for 22.

With the duo of Amelia Kerr and Mignon du Preez in the middle, it was the latter who hit some crucial boundaries and scored some singles to keep the run-chase afloat. The Strikers had to apply some pressure lest the Heat would run away with the match.

However, the biggest game-changer in the match was when skipper Tahlia McGrath got back-to-back wickets of du Preez and the dangerous Laura Harris for a golden duck. The tide started shifting in the Strikers’ favour as they looked to make a deeper impact.

Amelia Kerr was stranded at one end and she looked poised but wickets kept falling at the other end which was far from ideal. Charli Knott’s quick-fire 20 off 14 saw her strike four delightful boundaries but that cameo came to an end which was detrimental to the Heat’s prospects and as Jess Jonnassen got dismissed by Megan Schutt, the troubles only seemed to multiply.


Inspiring some hope in the run-chase was Georgia Voll’s 3 and Mikayla Hinkley’s 6 off 2 but then the twin dismissals by Amanda-Jade Wellington in the same over dented any chances of a comeback in the final of the WBBL 2023.

As Nicola Hancock took a single and Amelia Kerr stood at the other end with a knock of 30, the celebrations had already begun in the Strikers’ camp as they pulled off the most unbelievable victory.


The Strikers had a prolific Amanda-Jade Wellington strike with three wickets, McGrath and Schutt with two wickets each capping off a stellar bowling performance and drawing curtains on yet another successful season of the WBBL!

WBBL 2023 Final: Adelaide Strikers vs Brisbane Heat Brief Scores 

Adelaide Strikers- 125/5 in 20 overs (Laura Wolvaardt 39, Tahlia McGrath 38; Nicola Hancock 3/23, Georgia Voll 1/19) beat Brisbane Heat– 122/8 in 20 overs (Amelia Kerr 30*, Georgia Redmayne 22; Amanda-Jade Wellington 3/16, Tahlia McGrath 2/16) by three runs.

Click Here to get the latest news related to women’s cricket. You can also check about  Match predictions here. like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more updates.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Recent article