HomeDomestic CricketSenior Women’s One Day Trophy 2024 Pre Quarter Finals: Review – Highlights...

Senior Women’s One Day Trophy 2024 Pre Quarter Finals: Review – Highlights and Recap

With the Senior Women’s One Day Trophy 2024 coming to an end, all the fans were waiting with bated breath for the much-anticipated Pre Quarterfinals of the tournament witnessing Vidarbha take on Himachal Pradesh in Pre QF 1 and Tamil Nadu square off against Mumbai in Pre Quarter Final 2, interesting results emerged.

Here’s how the matches unfolded in the Quarter Finals of the Senior Women’s One Day Trophy 2024:

Pre-Quarter Final 1: Vidarbha versus Himachal Pradesh- Vidarbha Won by 8 Wickets

The Vidarbha versus Himachal Pradesh match was hyped up, thanks to the performances put in both the teams in the group stages. However, in the match that unfolded at the Kotambi Stadium in Vadodara, Gujarat- a low-scoring match ensued. Vidarbha won the toss and elected to field first. Himachal Pradesh was off to a rocky start losing their opener Monika P Devi early on but with Nancy Sharma at the crease, there seemed to be some semblance of a big score.

But as the rest of the batting collapsed around her with no one even crossing the threshold of two-figure digits, Himachal Pradesh folded for a meek 76 in 31.2 overs in what was a shambolic batting display. Vidarbha had Komal Zanzad bowl the spell of her lifetime as she conceded just 19 runs while scalping 5 wickets and with able support from the rest of the bowling coming in handy to restrict Himachal Pradesh.

In the run chase that followed, Vidarbha chased down the target in 16 overs without any nerves. With opener S W Dharne’s 12 setting the tone, the experienced skipper Disha Kasat’s counter-attacking knock of 30 coming from just 17 balls coupled with Bharti Fulmali’s run-a-ball knock of 10; the game was wrapped up without breaking a sweat.

This win meant Vidarbha qualified for the Quarter Finals slated to clash against Delhi at the Infipro Sports Club Ground, Vadodara on the 22nd of January.

Pre-Quarter Final 2: Tamil Nadu versus Mumbai- Tamil Nadu Won by 24 Runs

Niranjana Nagarajan, the star of TN. [Image: Getty]
Niranjana Nagarajan, the star of TN. [Image: Getty]
Another high-profile match was on the cards as the heavyweights Tamil Nadu and Mumbai were going to lock horns at the Infipro Sports Club Ground at Vadodara. Tamil Nadu won the toss and opted to bat first in what turned out to be a brilliant call despite a tricky effort with the bat.

Scoring 109, Tamil Nadu did not have the finest possible outings with the bat as their top 3 fell cheaply with G Kamalini, M D Thirushkamini and A Eloksi not scoring at all. The experienced Niranjana Nagarajan then came to the crease and her knock of 36 was a sight to behold as she held one end, grinding it out even as wickets kept tumbling around her. She was then given support by Yogya Kosuri’s 31 and the duo stitched a partnership of 59, but the lack of partnerships and application from the batters meant they succumbed to a low total.

Mumbai had Janhvi scalp four wickets, Sayali Satghare with three wickets and Jagravi Pawar with two scalps with other economic spells most notably from Saima Thakor to arrest runs and halt the proceedings for TN. Mumbai in return had the most forgettable batting outing getting skittled for 85 in 37.1 overs, and falling agonizingly short of the target by 24 runs. With Sanika Chalke and Riya Chaudhari giving a stable start, their dismissals early on opened a rabbit hole of misery for Mumbai as soon enough Vrushali Bhagat was run out and skipper Humairaa Kaazi perished.

With decent knocks coming from Sayali Satghare who was run out before she could capitalise her stay in the run chase, M Dakshini was the other known batter to be out. Wickets constantly kept putting pressure and with Saima Thakor 10 not out of 51 balls, the rest of the abetting was back to the pavilion with Mumbai handed a rude shock and exit from the tournament courtesy of Tamil Nadu’s excellence with the ball to restrict them.

For Tamil Nadu, it was S B Keerthana’s three wickets, Akshara Srinivasan’s 2 and good contributions from A Anusha and K N Ramyashri that broke the spine of Mumbai’s batting.

Tamil Nadu has now progressed to the Quarter Finals and is slated to play Uttarakhand at the Kotambi Stadium in Vadodara, on the 22nd of January.

Click Here to get the latest news related to women’s cricket. You can also check about Match predictions here. like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more updates.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Recent article