HomeDomestic CricketSenior Women’s Inter Zonal One Day Trophy 2024 Day 3 Review –...

Senior Women’s Inter Zonal One Day Trophy 2024 Day 3 Review – Points Table, Top Run-Getters And Wicket-Takers

The proceedings at the Senior Women’s Inter Zonal One Day Trophy 2024 only got interesting today with three encounters making headlines.

In the South Zone versus West Zone match- West Zone registered a 159 run victory, in the East Zone versus North East Zone match- East Zone pulled off a major 124 run win and last but not least, in the Central Zone versus North Zone match- Central Zone handed a seven-wicket loss to their listless opposition. The day witnessed some remarkable performances among a myriad of talking points.

Here’s how Day 3 transpired of the Senior Women’s Inter Zonal One Day Trophy 2024:

South Zone versus West Zone – West Zone Won by 159 Runs

Radha Yadav's run this season of the Senior Women's One Day Trophy 2024 has been phenomenal. [Image: Getty]
Radha Yadav’s run this season of the Senior Women’s One Day Trophy has been phenomenal. [Image: Getty]
In this match, West Zone scripted a remarkable 159-run win against a struggling South Zone at the Darshanam Sports and Education Academy in Vadodara. South Zone won the toss and elected to field first. West Zone piled on 276-9 in their 50 overs. Losing star batter Smriti Mandhana early on for 1 was far from ideal but with Yastika Bhatia scoring a crucial 40 coupled with Humaairaa Kaazi’s 42, Mumbai was looking en route to a big total even though they lost Jemimah Rodrigues for 11.

Surpassing expectations of everyone and adding much-needed solidity to the batting was Radha Yadav who scored a delightful century, a knock of 106 and with contributions of 18 and 28 from A A Patil and Sayali Satghare; West Zone ended up with a competitive total. For South Zone, it was G Trisha who scalped three wickets, Arundathi Reddy with two wickets with contributions of one wicket coming in from Shabnam, Tarannum Pathan and Shreyanka Patil who had a rather forgettable day at the office.

South Zone was off to the most disastrous starts losing G Trisha and Shrey for ducks as Sayali Satghare made the early inroads. Even as Sneha Deepthi and M Durga tried to keep the innings afloat, the dot balls were piling on and Durga had to retire hurt.

With wickets constantly tumbling as S Sajana, Arundathi Reddy, Shreyanka Patil, Mamatha, and Tarannum Pathan were dismissed in quick succession, Shabnam was the lone woman standing at 23* and South Zone ended with 117/9 in 34 overs to hand West Zone a massive 159 runs.

East Zone versus North East Zone- East Zone Won by 124 Runs

Deepti Sharma continues to excel with the ball. [Image: Getty]
Deepti Sharma continues to excel with the ball. [Image: Getty]
East Zone continued their resurgence in the tournament registering a 124-run win versus North East Zone at the GSFC Cricket Ground in Vadodara. Batting first, East Zone had Mita Paul and Deepti Sharma kick off the proceedings. Although, they lost the skipper Deepti and #3 Richa early on; an assured Mita Paul and R R Saha kept at it with a 28-run partnership coming from 58 balls.

However, with the demise of this partnership, R R Saha stuck it out even as wickets kept tumbling but the most crucial one being forged with Sushree Dibyadarshini as the duo scored 63. This meant East Zone ended up with 209/7 in their 50-overs quota. North East Zone had an inspired bowling effort as Monica scalped four wickets and was supported by Kiranbala Haorungbam and Pramila.

The total proved to be tricky for North East Zone as none of the batters could quite stay at the crease or capitalise their starts. Nabam Yapu, skipper D D Dutta and Linthoingambi Rajkumari got double-digit scores yet could not persist and perished as the East Zone bowlers got the better of them, reducing them to 85 all out and taking a 124-run win.

East Zone had Deepti Sharma scalp 4 wickets with Saika Ishaque and Sushree Dibyadarshini taking two wickets with Mita Paul and Richa also chipping in with one wicket apiece.

North Zone vs Central Zone- Central Zone Won by 7 Wickets

Mona Meshram, the solid middle order bat. [Image: Getty]
Mona Meshram, the solid middle order bat. [Image: Getty]
In what was a forgettable day of cricket for North Zone, they slipped to a seven-wicket loss to Central Zone at the Kotambi Stadium in Vadodara. Batting first, North Zone could only post 97 as all batters except Amanjot Kaur who scored 40 and Tanisha Ohlan who scored 19; none of the other batters could deliver.

Central Zone had Tanuja P Kanwer scalp four wickets with Mansi Joshi taking 2 wickets supported by Meghna Singh, Sonam Yadav, Sneh Rana and Poonam Yadav pocket a wicket each.

In the subsequent run-chase, Central Zone ended up chasing the total in 24.3 overs with Mona Meshram scoring a critical 33, B S Fulmali scoring 44 and knocks of 10 respectively from A D Garg and Dayalan Hemalatha- Central Zone wrapped up the match without much hassle.

Senior Women’s Inter Zonal One Day Trophy 2024: Points Table

West Zone is at the podium with two wins out of their two matches, followed by Central Zone who like West Zone have two wins but a slightly lesser NRR. East Zone is coming to their own with a win occupying the third place and South Zone and North East Zone would look to open their accounts.

Here's how the Points Table looks after Day 3. [Image: BCCI's Website]
Here’s how the Points Table looks after Day 3. [Image: BCCI’s Website]

Senior Women’s Inter Zonal One Day Trophy 2024: Top Run-Getters

Arundathi Reddy continues to solidify her position at the top of the run-getters table with 137 runs, and Smriti Mandhana (136 runs), Richa Ghosh (124 runs), Tanisha Ohlan (122 runs) and Deepti Sharma (113 runs) follow suit.

The top run-getters at the tournament. [Image: BCCI's Website]
The top run-getters at the tournament. [Image: BCCI’s Website]

Senior Women’s Inter Zonal One Day Trophy 2024: Top Wicket-Getters

A A Patil reigns supreme with seven wickets, followed closely by Mannat Kashyap with six wickets, Meghna Singh with five wickets and DD Dutta and Arundathi Reddy scalping four wickets each occupying the next three positions.

The top wicket-takers. [Image: BCCI's Website]
The top wicket-takers. [Image: BCCI’s Website]

Click Here to get the latest news related to Women’s Cricket. You can also check about Match predictions here. Like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more updates.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Recent article