HomeReportsWBBL 2023: Adelaide Strikers Register A Thrilling Win Over Sydney Thunder

WBBL 2023: Adelaide Strikers Register A Thrilling Win Over Sydney Thunder

Adelaide Strikers kept the momentum going this season with another resounding win versus Sydney Thunder at the Women’s Big Bash League 2023 (WBBL 2023) at the Cricket Central, Sydney Olympic Park.

Laura Wolvaardt’s single-handed unbeaten effort of 70 ensured the Strikers had a reasonable total to defend and with Sydney Thunder almost chasing it down, Megan Schutt’s and Anesu Mushangwe’s herculean effort with the ball kept the Thunder three runs away from chasing the total down.

Sydney Thunder won the toss and decided to bowl first. Seeking an early breakthrough for the Thunder was the new ball specialist Marizanne Kapp who struck in the very first ball of the innings dismissing Katie Mack, and the same over saw her get the skipper and dangerous Tahlia McGrath for four which meant that the Strikers were struck down 4/2 in the first over of the WBBL 2023.

Bridget Patterson looked awfully out of touch as she mounted a lot of dot balls but partnered Laura Wolvaardt looked to stabilise the ship from the other end. While their partnership was just blossoming, a runout was affected by Anika Learoyd which was far from ideal. With Madeline Penna out LBW to Hannah Darlington, the Strikers were reeling 31/4 in 7 overs and needed an impetus.

Laura Wolvaardt was fabulous with her unbeaten 70. [Image: Getty]
Danielle Gibson then came to the rescue and her cameo of 20 off 18, partnering with Wolvaardt to get some crucial runs on board but her dismissal by the ever-consistent Lauren Smith was a setback to the Strikers. Amanda-Jade Wellington and Jemma Barsby’s back-to-back dimsissals in overs did not help the cause and finally, it was Megan Schutt who played the perfect partner’s role notching 16 off 10 with three audacious boundaries that greatly helped the Strikers in the match of the WBBL 2023.

The biggest talking point of the Strikers was Laura Wolvaardt who with her knock of 71 stood apart as she not only held one end successfully but also scored the crucial runs that would actually prove to be the difference between the two sides. The Thunder on the other hand had Kapp who was the pick of the bowlers with two wickets and with Sammy-Jo Johnson, Lauren Smith, Darlington and Knight scalping a wicket apiece; it was a commendable bowling performance.

Starting the run chase on a dramatic note, Jemma Barsby provided the perfect start getting rid of the prolific run-getter, Chamari Athapaththu for a three-ball duck. Next to fall was Phoebe Litchfield for 1 as Megan Schutt got the better of her.

With the dependable duo of Heather Knight and Marizanne Kapp building on a partnership, it was easily evident how the conditions were favouring the bowlers as run scoring was stifled to a great extent. Skipper Knight was the first to fall for an indifferent 11 off 24 and Kapp was now joined by Anika Learoyd who looked to build on the partnership.

Amanda Jade-Wellington had other plans as she got Kapp LBW for 16 off 27 and Darcie Brown was also quick to get into the act as she dismissed Learoyd for 14 which meant Thunder was struggling at 48/5. With Tahlia Wilson joining Olivia Porter the duo began a resurrection attempt but the latter’s dismissal hit them in the thrilling WBBL 2023 match

Sammy-Jo Johnson also contributed with the bat as her wily cameo was fascinating to see and with Tahlia Wilson also scoring from the other end, the run chase was almost reaching its climax as a famous win was about to be established. But with Mushangwe getting Wilson for 33, Sammy-Jo Johnson was left stranded and Sydney Thunder fell agonisingly short by three runs giving Strikers the victory and a boost of two points to cement their position at the top of the table.

WBBL 2023: Adelaide Strikers vs Sydney Thunder Brief Scores

Adelaide Strikers- 121 for 7 in 20 overs (Laura Wolvaardt 70*, Danielle Gibson 20; Marizanne Kapp 2-23) beat Sydney Thunder 118 for 7 in 20 overs (Tahlia Wilson 33, Sammy-Jo Johnson 26*, Megan Schutt 2-23, Anesu Mushangwe 2/24) by three runs.

Click Here to get the latest news related to women’s cricket. You can also check about  Match predictions here. like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more updates.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Recent article