HomeNewsSchedule Announced for the ICC Women's Cricket World Cup 2022

Schedule Announced for the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the schedule for the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 on Tuesday (December 15). The mega event was earlier slated to take place in 2021 but it had to be postponed due to the global pandemic novel COVID-19. The tournament will begin on March 4 in New Zealand whereas the final will take place on April 3 under lights at the Hagley Oval in Christchurch.

While the tournament will witness 31 games, starting with the match at Tauranga’s Bay Oval, The Basin Reserve in Wellington and the Hagley Oval in Christchurch will host the semi-finals. However, the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 will be the first global women’s cricket tournament to take place since the Women’s T20 World Cup in Australia earlier this year.

Six cities across the country – Auckland, Tauranga, Hamilton, Wellington, Christchurch, and Dunedin will host the mega event. Notably, WHITE FERNS will be featured in the series campaigner against a qualifier on Friday, 4 March whereas Tauranga will host the 2017 Women’s Cricket World Cup finalists – England and India on Wednesday, 16 March.

Apart from this, Hamilton’s Seddon Park will host seven matches, starting with arch-rivals Australia and England. India and South Africa will also take on WHITE FERNS in Hamilton. Meanwhile, the Basin Reserve will host a Trans-Tasman fight between Australia and New Zealand on Sunday, 13 March, as well as five other games. Alongside these, the first semi-final of the tournament will also be played there.

However, March 19, Saturday, will witness a huge weekend in Auckland where India will take on Australia on before the WHITE FERNS will face England the following day as well.

Former WHITE FERNS captain and one of the key players, Amy Satterthwaite has attended the announcement recently at Hagley Oval and shared her views as well. “As a born-and-bred Cantabrian, it’s fantastic to see the Hagley Oval lights up and running. To play in a World Cup at our own stomping ground here in Christchurch, under lights, would be a real career highlight,” she added.

She again shared, “It was hard to watch the T20 Women’s Cricket World Cup from the sidelines back in March (after giving birth in January) so seeing the match schedule all locked in for the ODI World Cup here in 2022 gives both myself and the rest of the team a target to strive for as we prepare over the next 16 months.”

South Africa captain Dane van Niekerk said that playing in a mega event like World Cup is always a memorable occasion. She told, “Any time you get the chance to play for your country and wear the Proteas on your jersey it’s an honour.”

“I have been fortunate to have the opportunity before to play at a Women’s Cricket World Cup, but every new time is more special than the last. Every young cricket player dreams of playing for their country at the highest level, and we are definitely looking forward to the CWC22 in New Zealand,” she said.

Mithali Raj, the Indian captain is also looking forward to captaining the team in the prestigious event. She is one of the best players in World Cricket as well.

Raj said, “We have all been through a very difficult year and are happy to be getting back at playing the game we all love. India has been doing very well at ICC tournaments in the past three or four years, whether you talk about the (ODI) World Cup or the recently concluded T20 World Cup, and if we manage to win the tournament in 2022, it will be a massive inspiration for the next generation of girls, as the fifty-over format, is considered the pinnacle for any cricketer. I can assure you the team and I are looking forward to it.”

The 2022 ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup is going to be the first of two major events across the globe in 2022 – the other is the Commonwealth Games in England. However, a total of NZD$5.5million have been declared as the prize money. Notably, all matches will be broadcast live as well.

ICC CEO, Manu Sawhney said: “The ICC has made a long-term commitment to elevating women’s cricket as part of our strategy to grow and develop the global game. We want to build a sustainable foundation for women’s cricket. It is about building a product that fans want to watch, that kids want to take up, that sponsors and broadcasters want to be part of. This schedule takes the world’s best cricketers across New Zealand and can help inspire a generation of girls and boys to take up the game.”

“We are extremely proud of the significant progress we have made in increasing prize money for ICC events over the last few years, with the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 in New Zealand having $NZD5.5 million dollars available in prize money, an increase of almost 60% on 2017 and more than 1000% compared to 2013,” he again shared.

ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup CEO Andrea Nelson is excited and looking forward to hosting the event in the country.

“Our team is proud to be delivering a tournament where Kiwis across the whole country, in each of our six host cities, can really get involved in what is a truly special event. We can’t wait to see the excitement build around New Zealand as we prepare to roll out the welcome mat for the rest of the world. Major events like this one are all about creating a genuine legacy for the sport and we are proud to say our tournament was the catalyst for the installation of the Hagley Oval lights. I’d like to thank the New Zealand Government and the Canterbury Cricket Trust for making that happen,” Nelson expressed.

It is also noteworthy that, New Zealand, Australia, England, South Africa and India have already qualified for the World Cup. The rest of the three teams will be decided from the ICC qualifying tournament which is slated to take place between 26th June to 10th July 2021 in Sri Lanka. However, the eight teams will play in a round-robin format with each other, with the top four teams qualifying for semi-finals as well.

ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 fixtures by venue:

*denotes day/night

Bay Oval, Tauranga

Fri 04 Mar 2022    New Zealand v Qualifier*
Sun 06 Mar 2022    Qualifier v India*
Tue 08 Mar 2022    Australia v Qualifier *
Fri 11 Mar 2022    Qualifier v South Africa*
Mon 14 Mar 2022    South Africa v England*
Wed 16 Mar 2022    England v India*
Fri 18 Mar 2022    Qualifier v Qualifier

University Oval, Dunedin

Sat 05 Mar 2022    Qualifier v South Africa
Mon 07 Mar 2022    New Zealand v Qualifier
Wed 09 Mar 2022    Qualifier v England

Seddon Park, Hamilton

Sat 05 Mar 2022    Australia v England*
Thu 10 Mar 2022    New Zealand v India*
Sat 12 Mar 2022    Qualifier v India*
Mon 14 Mar 2022    Qualifier v Qualifier
Thu 17 Mar 2022    New Zealand v South Africa*
Mon 21 Mar 2022    Qualifier v Qualifier*
Tue 22 Mar 2022    India v Qualifier*

Basin Reserve, Wellington

Sun 13 Mar 2022    New Zealand v Australia
Tue 15 Mar 2022    Australia v Qualifier
Tue 22 Mar 2022    South Africa v Australia
Thu 24 Mar 2022    South Africa v Qualifier
Fri 25 Mar 2022    Qualifier v Australia
Sun 27 Mar 2022    England v Qualifier
Wed 30 Mar 2022    Semi-Final 1

Eden Park, Auckland

Sat 19 Mar 2022    India v Australia*
Sun 20 Mar 2022    New Zealand v England

Hagley Oval, Christchurch

Thu 24 Mar 2022    England v Qualifier*
Sat 26 Mar 2022    New Zealand v Qualifier
Sun 27 Mar 2022     India v South Africa*
Thu 31 Mar 2022    Semi-Final 2*
Sun 03 Apr 2022    FINAL*



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Recent article