HomeBreaking NewsRicha Ghosh Earns Maiden Call-up for ICC T20 World Cup 2020

Richa Ghosh Earns Maiden Call-up for ICC T20 World Cup 2020

Uncapped Richa Ghosh earned her maiden call-up in India’s squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2020 as well as for the tri-series. BCCI announced the squad in Mumbai on Sunday (January 12). The rookie batter from Bengal earned this call-up on the back of a successful domestic season.

Richa Ghosh scored 98 runs in the four matches on the recently concluded Senior Women’s T20 Challenger Trophy. She also had an impressive senior T20 season last year, scoring over 200 runs at a strike rate of 135.81 in nine innings. She was the second-highest run-getter for Bengal, after the experienced Rumeli Dhar.

Apart from her, experienced spinner Rajeshwari Gayakwad also returned to the squad after doing a great job for India C in their T20 Challenger Trophy win. Anuja Patil, the off-spinner, as well as Mansi Joshi, the pacer, both of whom were a part of India’s last international series against West Indies, have been dropped from the team that will travel to Australia for the tournament starts from February 21.

Shafali Verma
Shafali Verma

Another notable exclusion was Dayalan Hemalatha, who did well with both bat and ball through the T20 Challenger Trophy. She was not a part of both the India A and India B sides for the quadrangular series involving Thailand and Bangladesh in Patna. However, Shafali Verma’s inclusion was no surprise.

Harleen Deol, who was injured and did not feature in the T20 Challenger Trophy, finds a spot in the side alongside Poonam Yadav, who had injured her left hand previously. Nuzhat Parween is the only addition to the team that will play the tri-series including Australia and England prior to the T20 World Cup.

T20 World Cup Squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Harleen Deol, Veda Krishnamurthy, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Deepti Sharma, Shikha Pandey, Pooja Vastrakar, Poonam Yadav, Radha Yadav, Arundhati Reddy, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Richa Ghosh.

Tri-series squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodriguez, Harleen Deol, Deepti Sharma, Veda Krishnamurthy, Richa Ghosh, Tania Bhatia, Poonam Yadav, Radha Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Shikha Pandey, Pooja Vastrakar, Arundhati Reddy, Nuzhat Parween.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Recent article