Challenger Trophy: Pooja Vastrakar Stars For India D; Ready To Face India A In The Final

Challenger Trophy

Challenger Trophy: Pooja Vastrakar Stars For India D; Ready To Face India A In The Final

Pooja Vastrakar starred as India D claimed their third consecutive win in the ongoing Challenger Trophy with a 22-run victory over India A at Vijaywada. India A won the toss and chose to field first. India D piled up a total of 219 for the loss of 7 wickets in the stipulated 50 overs. India A claimed an early success, dismissing opener S Meghana for a duck only three deliveries into the innings.

Not much later, K Pratyoosha walked away for 5 runs off 4 deliveries in the third over. It was down to the middle order to put on a respectable total on the board for India D. G Divya hit 33 off 20 while Ayushi Soni knocked 47 off 103 deliveries. Captain Pooja Vastrakar starred with the bat, narrowly missing out on a century, getting dismissed at 96 off 96 in the last over of the innings. Renuka K Singh was the top wicket-taker for India A, claiming three wickets while Simran Dil Bahadur and Sneh Rana claimed two each.

Shivali Shinde and CH Jhansi Lakshmi opened the chase for India A, knocking 25 and 39 off 50 and 65 deliveries respectively. DD Kasat completed her half-century, with 51 off 73 balls, before she was dismissed by Kanika Ahuja in the forty-second over. The lower order efforts however fell short as India A was down to 197 at the end of the innings with three wickets to spare. Saika Ishaque and Kanika Ahuja took two wickets each for India D while Rajeshwari and Pooja Vastrakar claimed one each.

Score: India D 219/7 (Pooja Vastrakar 96, Ayushi Soni 47, Renuka K Singh 3/47, Simran Dil Bahadur 2/45) won against India A 197/7 (DD Kasat 51, CH Jhansi Lakshmi 39, Saika Ishaque 2/31) by 22 runs.

India C finished with a 24-run victory over India B at the Gokaraju Laila Ganga Raju ACA Cricket Complex in Vijayawada. India B won the toss and chose to field first. Batting first, India C was bundled out for 212 in 48.2 overs. Priya Punia delivered an opening knock of 60 off 92 deliveries. Anushka Sharma top-scored for India C, knocking 63 off 91. With Chandu V dismissing Anushka Sharma in the thirty-sixth over, a flailing middle order and low order failed to pile on the platform, their run flow further hindered by the quick fall of wickets in the last ten overs of the innings.

Apart from Radha P Yadav (18) and C Prathyusha (27), none of the other batters coming in later managed to put up double-digit figures. Chandu V led the bowling attack for India B with a five-wicket-haul while giving away 40 runs. Meghna Singh and G Trisha claimed two wickets each for India B. India B’s unsuccessful chase to the target was faced with a poor show from the middle order. Captain Taniya Bhatiya opened with a knock of 30 off 48 deliveries. Meghna Singh and Harleen B Deol were the highest contributors, knocking 30 and 39* off 48 and 35 deliveries respectively.

They however failed to set up the required partnerships to build up their innings. S Subha and H Kazi were dismissed for a single run each. G Trisha and Soumya pitched in 22 runs each, off 46 and 48 deliveries respectively. Batting at number 9, Meghna Singh knocked an unbeaten 39 off 35 but it proved to be insufficient in India B’s chase to the target. At the end of 50 overs, India B stood at 187 for the loss of 8 wickets. Tarannum Pathan claimed four wickets for India C while C Prathyusha and Anushka Sharma claimed two apiece.

Score: India C 212 (Anushka Sharma 63, Priya Punia 60, Chandu V 5/40, G Trisha 2/24) won against India B 187/8 (Harleen B Deol 46, Meghna Singh 39, Tarannum Pathan 4/39, Anushka Sharma 2/26) by 25 runs.