HomeNewsKwibuka T20 Tournament 2021: All The Details You Need To Know

Kwibuka T20 Tournament 2021: All The Details You Need To Know

The seventh edition of the Kwibuka T20 Tournament is just a day ahead which is due to start from June 6 to June 12 in Rwanda, which could not take place the yester-year for the gruelling conditions of COVID-19.

Five teams, Botswana, Namibia, the three-time champions Kenya, Nigeria and the hosts, Rwanda. The two-time champions, Uganda, had also joined hands with the tournament but has pulled away recently. The venue is set to be Gahanga International Cricket Stadium in Kigali.

Notwithstanding the crippled one year that is still striving hard to get over from the grip of the COVID-19 pandemic where the Cricket Councils and Associations are going through really tough situations and scenarios, it’s the African Cricket that has surged the swell of the rhythm making good by the Rwanda Cricket Association (RCA).

Admitting to the fact that due to the COVID-19 restrictions on travelling across borders and training within states, few members have made it to the marks to commence the International cricket in some African and Asian countries. The Kwibuka T20 Tournament is all set to feature on screens on and from June 6 till June 12, for which at least 9 regional members were invited that included Zimbabwe, Namibia, Uganda, Kenya and Tanzania among others.

But at the end of the longing period for the enrollment, only five have managed to make through and lock horns against each other’s, which includes the three-time champions Kenya, Botswana, Namibia, Rwanda, the hosts of the tournament and Nigeria, who will be refreshing themselves in their maiden-ever tournament, and that too amid this pandemic.

Uganda was supposed to be the most noteworthy positioned group in the tournament and hence there was something else entirely to play for in the head-locking tournament as a decent presentation should have given Uganda a superior positioning if only the COVID-19 had not struck the unfortunate side. The Lady Cricket Cranes, as the Uganda group is popularly known, has won this annual tournament in 2014 and 2016.

Kwibuka would have been the main head-stead competition for the squad since COVID-19 struck in 2020 and moreover, their first serious competition since the horrid show in Zimbabwe in 2019. “Unfortunately, due to some COVID-19 positive tests within the Lady Cricket Cranes bio-bubble, we have been forced to bite the bullet and cancel their trip to Kigali, Rwanda for the Kwibuka Women’s T20 Tournament on the 11th hour,” an official said.

Two groups – Group A and Group B were divided for the six teams that previously included Uganda, but after its withdrawal from the tournament, the scenario has obviously changed and the fixtures are on the verge of an absolute amendment. Prior to the misbalance, a total of 14 matches were confirmed to be on the action, with each one playing four of them at the group stage.

For the third play-off, the runner-up of each group was assigned a match along with the two group-toppers playing against each other for the thrilling finals. Amid the T20 ranking points also on the offer in minds, the countries will look not only to improve their stages in the rankings but also make a lookout on the list ahead of the ICC Qualifiers, the interlock of which makes the tournament cut-throat and edge-thrilling.

Previous Winners of Kwibuka T20 Tournament:

Kenya – Three times winner (2015, 2017 and 2018)

Uganda – Two times winner (2014 and 2016)

Tanzania – One time winner (2019)

Full Squad of Kwibuka T20 Tournament:

Botswana – Laura Mophakedi (C), Florence Samanyika (VC), Tebagano Ditshotlo, Botho Freeman, Onneile Keitsemang, Jacqueline Kgang, Bontle Madimabe, Precious Modimo, Thapelo Modise, Amantle Mokgotlhe, Collin Mokibel, Shameelah Mosweu, Tebogo Motlhabaphuti, Botsogo Mpedi, Tuelo Shadrack

Namibia – Irene van Zyl (C), Yasmeen Khan (VC), Arrasta Diergaardt, Didi Foerster, Mezerly Gorases, Kayleen Green, Victoria Hamunyela, Reehana Khan, Wilka Mwatile, Sylvia Shihepo, Namusha Shiomwenyo, Adri van der Merwe, Edelle van Zyl, SuneWittmann

Nigeria – Samantha Agazuma (C), Kehinde Abdulquadri, Omonye Asika, Mary Desmond, Joy Efosa, Favour Eseigbe, Blessing Etim, Abigail Igbobie, Miracle Imimole, Piety Lucky, Blessing Nwobodo, Agatha Obulor, Racheal Samson, Esther Sandy, Salome Sunday

Rwanda – Sarah Uwera (C) , Marie Bimenyimana, Diane Dusabemungu, Alice Ikuzwe, Flora Irakoze, SifaIngabire, Gisele Ishimwe, Henriette Ishimwe, Immaculee Muhawenimana, Delphine Mukarurangwa, Belyse Murekatete, Josiane Nyirankundineza, Cathia Uwamahoro, Margueritte Vumiliya

Kenya – Margaret Ngoche (C), Sarah Wetoto (VC), Queentor Abel, Josephine Abwom, Veronica Abuga, Ruth Achando, Lavendah Idambo, Sharon Juma, Brenda Mogusu, Monicah Ndhambi, Daisy Njoroge, Melvin Odambo, Fiavia Odhiambo, Marion Okira, Jane Otieno, Esther Wachira, Edith Waithaka

Full Fixture (All times in IST):

June 6, Sunday

Rwanda vs Botswana – 1:00 PM

Namibia vs Nigeria – 5:20 PM

June 7, Monday

Botswana vs Kenya – 1:00 PM

Namibia vs Rwanda – 5:20 PM

June 8, Tuesday

Kenya vs Nigeria – 1:00 PM

Botswana vs Namibia – 5:20 PM

June 9, Wednesday

Namibia vs Kenya – 1:00 PM

Rwanda vs Nigeria – 5:20 PM

June 10, Thursday

Kenya vs Rwanda – 1:00 PM

Nigeria vs Botswana – 5:20 PM

June 11, Friday

TBC vs TBC (1st Semi-Final), 1:00 PM

TBC vs TBC (2nd Semi-Final), 5:20 PM

June 12, Saturday

TBC vs TBC (3rd Place Play-Off), 1:00 PM

TBC vs TBC (Final), 5:20 PM



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Recent article