HomeTeam PreviewICC T20 World Cup 2023: Team Preview - Australia

ICC T20 World Cup 2023: Team Preview – Australia

A number of well-known players returned to the squad when Cricket Australia announced the Australia T20 World Cup squad for 2023, strengthening the team dynamic. Meg Lanning, who took a break from all forms of cricket after winning gold at the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham, is making a comeback as the team’s captain.

What could we expect?

Dating back to the 2020 edition of the T20 World Cup, Australia were and still are the favourite and the contender for the title.

According to Alyssa Healy, the hero of Australia’s fifth T20 World Cup title win, who had considered Black Panther’s skills during her team’s campaign, absorbing pressure and reflecting it back on the opposition was something that typified Australia’s tournament victory.

Australia faced a difficult journey to the 2020 T20 World Cup final. They were defeated by India in their first game, hence the rest of their games were practically must-win. However, the ability to recover quickly and outclass their opponents in decisive matches is one of the defining characteristics of any Australian setup.

India, who was making its first appearance in the finals, learned the hard way when Healy and Beth Mooney sparked their team to a massive score of 184 for 4 before Australia bowled India out for 99 to claim a devastating victory.

Team Australia will be a very difficult opponent to defeat because they are by far the most experienced women’s team at the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2023, and they have already won the tournament in 2018 and 2020.

The Australian squad is slated to play three games at St. George’s Park in Gqeberha, which is known as one of South Africa’s slow surfaces, so spinners will undoubtedly play a significant part. Due to the venue’s lack of bounce and seam, runs can be consistently scored on mid-on and mid-off.

The defending champions, Team Australia, are matched up in Group A with South Africa, New Zealand, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and Sri Lanka. They are without a doubt the group’s driving force and could easily defeat them.

Players to watch out for in New Zealand: 

Beth Mooney:

Even though Beth Mooney only scored one or two runs in each of her first two games, she still finished the tournament with the most runs, which says a lot about her talent. She was Australia’s solid foundation at the top of the hierarchy.

In the competition, she hit three half-centuries, including one in the championship game that enabled Australia to score the winning total. The knock in the championship match was outstanding; she was content to follow Alyssa Healy around but eventually changed tack to beat out her competitive opening partner. She was accordingly crowned the tournament’s player of the year.

Alyssa Healy:

By far the greatest wicketkeeper-batter in the competition, Alyssa Healy consistently complemented Mooney at the top of the order for Australia. She got off to a fast start in her event with a blitzy fifty, but India quickly crushed her team.

She saved her best, though, for the championship game against the same opponents, where she completely dominated the Indian offence and earned player-of-the-match honours. India was caught off guard by Australia’s 39-ball 75 as they easily claimed the trophy.

As they have now won five world cups, more than any other women’s team, Australia is the most successful team. Additionally, they will compete in the forthcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2023 as the defending champions.

Alyssa Healy and Georgia Wareham, two leg spinners who are now sound and prepared to compete in the 2023 ICC T20 world cup, have joined the most successful captain Meg Lanning in the Australia T20 World Cup squad.

Along with nine members of the ICC T20 World Cup 2020 Champions side, the selection committee also chose Tahlia McGrath, Darcie Brown, and Grace Harris who will be playing in their first-ever World Cup match. The opportunity to play with champions and dazzle the world with their incredible talent will be a great learning curve for the young players.

For some fans, the decision to remove Nicola Carey, Phoebe Litchfield, and Amanda-Jade Wellington from the team may come as a shock considering that Nicola has been a permanent member of the team for the past four years. As a result of their outstanding performances against a formidable Indian Women’s team, Kim Garth and Heather Graham were selected for the World Cup team.

All nations’ squads appear to favour spin, and the Australian women’s T20 World Cup 2023 player list includes three excellent spinners in Georgia Wareham, Alana King, and Jess Jonassen.

Australia squad:

Meg Lanning (c), Alyssa Healy (vc), Darcie Brown, Ashleigh Gardner, Kim Garth, Heather Graham, Grace Harris, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Tahlia McGrath, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Georgia Wareham

Australia’s Itinerary:

February 11: Australia vs New Zealand
February 14: Australia vs Bangladesh
February 16: Australia vs Sri Lanka
February 18: Australia vs South Africa

Get the latest news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more updates.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Recent article