HomeNewsGeorgia Wareham marks into the squad as Australia prepares for T20 World...

Georgia Wareham marks into the squad as Australia prepares for T20 World Cup

The ICC Women’s T20 World Cup will take place in February, and Australia Women have announced their 15-player roster for the T20I series against Pakistan.
It’s always tough to narrow a squad down to just 15 players, but we’re confident we’ve picked a well-balanced side that’s well placed for the series against Pakistan and ready to challenge for a third consecutive T20 title,” National Selector Shawn Flegler said.
Due to the long-term injury to leg-spinner Georgia Wareham, Australia’s team selection for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in South Africa has drawn attention.
Wareham has not participated in a T20 match since rupturing her ACL in October 2021, and last Thursday was only her second match since the injury when she represented Victoria in the local one-day league.
Wareham, who replaced Nicola Carey in the squad that defeated India 4-1 in a T20I series late last year, prevailed over fellow leg-spinner Amanda-Jade Wellington to earn a spot in the team.
Following her return from a six-month sabbatical from the sport, Meg Lanning will captain Australia in its quest for a T20 World Cup ‘three-peat’ and the three-game series against Pakistan that will precede it beginning January 24.
Flegler further noted, “(Meg and Georgia) bring a wealth of experience to the group, which is always crucial during major tournaments … Georgia in particular, has had a tough run of injuries, but she’s shown a great deal of resilience and her return is a real boost for the side.
The keeper-opener Alyssa Healy has also been named to return from the calf strain she sustained during the T20 tour of India last month, keeping her out of the three-game ODI series against Pakistan that gets underway on January 16.
Alyssa and Jess are expected to be fully fit and firing after minor injuries as well, so we’ve got a full-strength squad with plenty of variety with both bat and ball if required,” Flegler said.
Ash Gardner, an all-rounder, is the other spin option in the anticipated line-up, while fellow leg-spinner Alana King appears to be the first pick in the starting XI.
Phoebe Litchfield has been omitted from the squad due to the return of captain Meg Lanning, and Alyssa Healy has been included despite suffering from a calf strain that kept her out of several games during the India trip.
Unfortunately, there was no room for Nicola, Phoebe or Amanda-Jade, but they’re still well and truly in our plans and are on standby should they be required,” Flegler added.
One of two leg spinners in the World Cup touring party is Wareham, a two-time T20 World Cup champion who tore her ACL while playing for the Melbourne Renegades in WBBL|07. The other is Alana King, who had a breakthrough year at the international level in 2022 after taking the place of the injured Victorian.
Kim Garth, who made her debut for the green and gold last month, is expected to play in her third T20 World Cup, but her first as an Australian player. The former Irish all-rounder competed for her country in the 2016 and 2018 competitions.
Grace Harris was originally chosen for the 2016 event in India but withdrew at the last minute after being told she had deep vein thrombosis. Tahlia McGrath, Darcie Brown, Heather Graham, and Harris will all participate in the 20-over ICC tournament for the first time.
Tayla Vlaeminck, who was ruled out on the eve of that tournament with a foot injury and who is still on the sidelines as she recovers from a recurrence of the same stress fracture, Rachael Haynes, Delissa Kimmince (both retired), Sophie Molineux (injured), Nicola Carey, Erin Burns, and Molly Strano will all be absent from Australia’s title defense.
The finals will take place in Newlands in Cape Town, while Australia’s World Cup matches will be spread out over Paarl’s Boland Park and St. George’s Park in Gqeberha (previously Port Elizabeth).
Prior to the three T20Is against the same opponent, Australia will play three ODIs against Pakistan, with the first ODI taking place at Brisbane’s Allan Border Field on January 16.
On January 29, after the final T20I in Canberra, they will depart for South Africa to start their World Cup preparations. Australia wants to add a third straight championship to the trophies it already has from 2018 and 2020.


Meg Lanning (c), Alyssa Healy (vc), Darcie Brown, Ashleigh Gardner, Kim Garth, Heather Graham, Grace Harris, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Tahlia McGrath, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Georgia Wareham

Women’s Commonwealth Bank T20I Series v Pakistan

Tuesday Jan 24: North Sydney Oval, 1:45pm
Thursday Jan 26: Blundstone Arena, Hobart, 7:05pm
Sunday Jan 29: Manuka Oval, Canberra, 1:45pm

Australia’s T20 World Cup 2023 fixtures

Feb 11: v New Zealand, Boland Park, Paarl, 7pm local (4am Feb 12 AEDT)
Feb 14: v Bangladesh, St George’s Park, Gqeberha, 7pm local (4am Feb 15 AEDT)
Feb 16: v Sri Lanka, St George’s Park, Gqeberha, 3pm local (12am Feb 17 AEDT)
Feb 18: v South Africa, St George’s Park, Gqeberha, 7pm local (4am Feb 19 AEDT)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Recent article