HomeNewsEngland Squad Announced for West Indies Series; Sophia Dunkley, Katie George Recall

England Squad Announced for West Indies Series; Sophia Dunkley, Katie George Recall

England announced a 16-member squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series against West Indies in Derby starting from September 21. The final match will take place on September 30. Sophia Dunkley and Katie George have been included in the squad. However, Georgia Elwiss dropped out owing to a back injury.

Leg-spinner Sophia Dunkley has played 10 T20I games so far with the final appearance came in March last year against Sri Lanka. So far, she has claimed one wicket and 49 runs in her name. Her inclusion will add more strength to England’s strong spin department that comprised of Sophie Ecclestone, Mady Villiers, Sarah Glenn and Heather Knight.

Along with her, left-arm medium-pacer Katie George has also been added who last played for England in 2018. She will join hands with Katherine Brunt, Kate Cross, Anya Shrubsole, Natalie Sciver and Freya Davies in the pace department as well.

On the other hand, all-rounder Bryony Smith and left-arm spinner Linsey Smith have also been included as standbys. However, Lauren Bell, Alice Davidson-Richards, Kirstie Gordon, Emma Lamb, Bryony Smith, Linsey Smith and Issy Wong, who were not added in the final squad and part of England’s bio-secure bubble in Derby, will take part in the final round of Rachael Heyhoe-Flint Trophy.

“It’s been a challenging summer for everyone and we are privileged to be in a position to play an international series and to get the chance to showcase the women’s game,” England head coach Lisa Keightley said. “We have worked hard since the group came back together in preparation for this series and we’re in a great place going into the Vitality IT20s against West Indies.”

Table of Contents

England Squad:

Heather Knight, Tammy Beaumont, Katherine Brunt, Kate Cross, Freya Davies, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Katie George, Sarah Glenn, Amy Jones, Nat Sciver, Anya Shrubsole, Mady Villiers, Fran Wilson, Lauren Winfield, Danni Wyatt


1st T20I – September 21, Monday

2nd T20I – September 23, Wednesday

3rd T20I – September 26, Saturday

4th T20I – September 28, Monday 

5th T20I – September 30, Wednesday



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Recent article