HomeNewsEngland Names Ashes Squad; Maiden Ashes Call-ups For Charlie Dean, Maia Bouchier

England Names Ashes Squad; Maiden Ashes Call-ups For Charlie Dean, Maia Bouchier

England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has announced a 17 player squad for the upcoming Ashes series, starting from 27th January 2022. 12 players have been selected for the England A squad, who will play the limited over format games against Australia A team.

“Selection will focus on the senior group but there is scope for members of the England Women’s A squad to be called into the Ashes squad while on tour,” said ECB in a statement.

The one-off Test will be followed by the T20 and ODI games. Strong senior players have been named by ECB for the Ashes game. Heather Knight will lead the squad and players like Maia Bouchier and Charlie Dean have been retained in the squad after their recent debut against New Zealand.

Head coach Lisa Keightley seems excited about the game. She said, “It’s always exciting to head to Australia to take on the challenge of winning the Ashes, and we’re really looking forward to going out there and making some memories as a team.”

Talking about the young 12 player squad for the limited over games, the coach has added, “This is the first time we’ve taken an England Women’s A squad alongside the senior team, which is a big step forward for us. It gives us great depth, and provides so much competition for places. It’s also an invaluable development opportunity for those players pushing for senior selection.”

Keightley also looks at it as a good opportunity to tighten their belts for the highly sought World Cup Tournament and says it’s a great blend of professionals and amateurs.

“Similarly, it’s also a good chance to get more 50-over cricket under our belts ahead of our defence of the ICC Women’s World Cup in New Zealand. We’ve got a nice blend of experienced pros and youngsters, and it’s a trip we’ve been preparing for since the end of our summer. A multi-format series is a great test of all our skills, and we can’t wait to get out there.”

England squad: Heather Knight (C), Tammy Beaumont, Maia Bouchier, Katherine Brunt, Kate Cross, Freya Davies, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Tash Farrant, Sarah Glenn, Amy Jones, Nat Sciver, Anya Shrubsole, Mady Villiers, Lauren Winfield-Hill, Danni Wyatt.

England A Squad: Emily Arlott, Lauren Bell, Alice Capsey, Alice Davidson-Richards, Georgia Elwiss, Kirstie Gordon, Eve Jones, Beth Langston, Emma Lamb, Bryony Smith, Ellie Threlkeld, Issy Wong



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Recent article