HomeBreaking NewsEngland Announce Squad For New Zealand Series; Anya Shrubsole Out Due To...

England Announce Squad For New Zealand Series; Anya Shrubsole Out Due To Injury

England announced a 16-member squad for the upcoming tour of New Zealand. While Natasha Farrant has been recalled to the squad, pace spearhead Anya Shrubsole will miss the series because of a knee injury. Both teams will play three ODIs and three T20Is in February and March.

Along with her, another seamer Katie George has suffered another stress fracture in her back as well. George, the 21-year-old left-arm player, has been suffering from back injuries during her career and has played only two ODIs and three T20Is since her international debut in 2018.

Meanwhile, Sophia Dunkley has retained her place in the squad after returning to the England T20I team after 18 months during the five-match T20I series against West Indies in September. However, Farrant impressed with her performance during last year’s inaugural Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy. She had played only one ODI way back in 2013 and played her last T20Is against New Zealand in 2018.

But Georgia Adams missed the selection despite being the highest scorer with 500 runs in the domestic 50-over competition. Her runs came at an average of 83.33 which also included an unbeaten 154. Meanwhile, 18-year-old pace bowler Issy Wong has been added to the squad. Alongside her, Georgia Elwiss too will return after missing the last series for a back injury.

Notably, the England team will tour will travel to New Zealand on January 24 as they have to spend a mandatory quarantine period of 14 days as required by the New Zealand Government. However, during this time, they will follow COVID-19 rules which will allow them to train prior to the first ODI on February 23 at Hagley Oval in Christchurch whereas the next two will be played at the University of Oval. On the other hand, the T20Is will start on March 3 at Wellington’s Sky Stadium before shifting to Eden Park and then Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui.

England squad: Heather Knight (Captain), Tammy Beaumont, Katherine Brunt, Kate Cross, Freya Davies, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Georgia Elwiss, Tash Farrant, Sarah Glenn, Amy Jones, Nat Sciver, Mady Villiers, Fran Wilson, Lauren Winfield-Hill, Danni Wyatt


ODI series:

Tuesday, February 23: 1st ODI, Hagley Oval, 1 am GMT

Friday, February 26: 2nd ODI, University of Otago Oval, 10 pm GMT

Sunday, February 28: 3rd ODI, New University of Otago Oval, 10 pm GMT

T20I series:

Wednesday, March 3: 1st T20I, Sky Stadium, 2 am GMT

Friday, March 5: 2nd T20I, Eden Park, 2 am GMT

Sunday, March 7: 3rd T20I, Bay Oval, 11 pm GMT



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Recent article