HomeBreaking NewsDane van Niekerk, Chloe Tryon Back for Upcoming T20 World Cup

Dane van Niekerk, Chloe Tryon Back for Upcoming T20 World Cup

Dane van Niekerk has returned to the South Africa squad for the upcoming 2020 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup which will be held in Australia starting from February 21. Big-hitting allrounder Chloe Tryon has also returned who last played a T20I in May 2019.

The 15-member squad consists of four new faces who could possibly make their World Cup debuts. Along with them, they have a stable team where as many as 11 players have the experience of playing the World Cup before. Moreover, eight members of the team have experience of playing T20 cricket in Australia as well.

“It’s a group that has the talent, youth, experience and desire to help us win the T20 World Cup,” said Hilton Moreeng, head coach of South Africa at the squad announcement in Johannesburg on Monday (January 13).

“We have assembled a team that we feel can hold their own against anyone in the world and it will be important that we carry that belief into the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup. The players we have at our disposal are some of the best and most promising players in women’s cricket globally and we will make sure that we give them the best tools to succeed on this big stage,” the coach further added.

South Africa are placed in Group A along with England, Pakistan, Thailand and West Indies. Last year they failed to reach the semi-final. Hence, they will try to put up a good show this time. They have some of the senior players, including Dane van Niekerk, Tryon, Marizanne Kapp, Lizelle Lee, Mignon du Preez and Shabnim Ismail who were part of the recently concluded Women’s Big Bash League in Australia.

Along with them, South Africa have a strong pace battery leading by Kapp and Ismail. The others are Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klass, Tumi Sekhukhune and de Klerk. The spin department consists of van Niekerk, Sune Luus, Nonkululeko Mlaba and Nondumiso Shangase.

Squad: Dane van Niekerk (c), Laura Wolvaardt, Lizelle Lee, Mignon du Preez, Marizanne Kapp, Sune Luus, Chloe Tryon (vc), Shabnim Ismail, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Tumi Sekhukhune, Trisha Chetty, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Nadine de Klerk, Nondumiso Shangase.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Recent article