HomeCommonwealth Games 2022CWG 2022: Here Is All You Need To Know About The Tournament

CWG 2022: Here Is All You Need To Know About The Tournament

CWG 2022: It was way back in 1998 when 50 Overs Men’s Tournament was conducted in the Kuala Lumpur Edition of the Commonwealth Games. After a span of 24 years, cricket marks its return to the prestigious CWG (Commonwealth Games) in England. 8 International Women’s Teams will participate and all the matches will be played at the picturesque Edgbaston. They are divided into two groups in a single round robin format with top teams from each group which will compete against each other in the semi-finals. The final is scheduled for Sunday, 7th of August, 2022.

Players to Watch out for in CWG 2022:

While Australia seems to be the favourite with an experienced side consisting of 5 Time World Cup Winner Ellyse Perry who will contribute as a specialist batsman. They also have the likes of Meg Lanning, Alana King, Tahlia Mcgrath and Alyssa Healy who have been performing consistently for the past few seasons for Australia.

On the other hand, India’s Squad looks equally promising with the right mix of youth and experience. While they have the firebrand Harmanpreet Kaur leading the side with Smriti Mandhana taking the deputy role. Harmanpreet on her day can turn the game around single-handedly while Smriti’s consistency at the top order also lends stability to the Indian Team. Apart from that, India also has some energetic infusion of Youth right from Shafali Verma, Hareleen Deol and Jemimah Rodriques who have been proven match winners as well. Jemimah has scored over 1500+ runs in the last 2 seasons for Mumbai at the Domestic Circuit with an average of 90.00+ with the bat.

England on the other hand will have two 17yr olds making their debut in the name of Alice Kepsey and Freya Kemp. These two youngsters will certainly be someone to watch out for. It should also be interesting to check out the in-form Nat Sciver who has been in stunning form this season for England. Nat scored a fabulous 169* in the test match vs South Africa followed by two impressive half centuries in ODI’s. On the other hand, England’s strike bowler, Sophie Ecclestone will play a crucial role for England in CWG, since her debut in 2016, she has grabbed 73 T20 wkts with some match-winning spells to her name.

New Zealand will have the experienced Suzie Bates leading the side while Barbados will be led by Hayley Matthews. For Sri Lanka, skipper Chamari Athapaththu has been one of the prolific batters to watch out for. She also recently scored 125 runs in 3 games vs India regaining her touch with the bat. From the Sri Lankan bowlers, all eyes would also be on spinner Rashmi Silva who has shown sparks of brilliance since her T20 Debut vs India.

From South Africa, Chloe Tyron who has 816 runs at a strike rate of 136.45 will be one dangerous batter to watch out for. Laura Wolvardt will also be a vital cog as her ability to play at a healthy strike rate will certainly come in handy. From the bowlers, Shabnam Ismail will lead the attack and her experience will play an important role for South Africa. Shabnam has 112 wkts in 101 innings and she will be leading the pace attack of SA.

CWG 2022 Squad:

India: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana (vc), Shafali Verma, S. Meghana, Taniyaa Sapna Bhatia (wk), Yastika Bhatia (wk), Deepti Sharma, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Pooja Vastrakar, Meghna Singh, Renuka Thakur, Jemimah Rodrigues, Radha Yadav, Harleen Deol, Sneh Rana

Barbados: Hayley Matthews (C), Aaliyah Alleyne, Shanika Bruce, Shai Carrington, Shaunte Carrington, Shamilia Connell, Deandra Dottin, Keila Elliott, Trishan Holder, Kycia Knight, Kyshona Knight, Alisa Scantlebury, Shakera Selman, Tiffany Thorpe, Aaliyah Williams.

England: Heather Knight (c), Nat Sciver (vc), Maia Bouchier, Katherine Brunt, Alice Capsey, Kate Cross, Freya Davies, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Sarah Glenn, Amy Jones, Freya Kemp, Bryony Smith, Issy Wong, Danni Wyatt.

Pakistan: Bismah Maroof (C), Aiman Anwar, Aliya Riaz, Anam Amin, Ayesha Naseem, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Gull Feroza, Iram Javed, Kainat Imtiaz, Muneeba Ali Siddiqui, Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Sadia Iqbal, Tuba Hassan.

Australia: Meg Lanning (c), Rachael Haynes (vc), Darcie Brown, Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner, Grace Harris, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Beth Mooney, Tahlia McGrath, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Amanda-Jade Wellington

New Zealand: Sophie Devine (c), Suzie Bates, Eden Carson, Izzy Gaze, Claudia Green, Maddy Green, Brooke Halliday, Hayley Jensen, Fran Jonas, Amelia Kerr, Rosemary Mair, Jess McFadyen, Georgia Plimmer, Hannah Rowe, Lea Tahuhu

Sri Lanka: Chamari Athapaththu (c), Hasini Perera, Harshitha Samarawickrama, Vishmi Gunaratne, Malsha Shehani, Nilakshi de Silva, Kavisha Dilhari, Ama Kanchana, Achini Kulasuriya, Inoka Ranaweera, Udeshika Prabodhani, Sugandika Kumari, Rashmi de Silva, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Anushka Sanjeewani.

South Africa: Sune Luus (c), Chloe Tryon, Anneke Bosch, Tamzin Brits, Nadine de Klerk, Mignon du Preez, Lara Goodall, Shabnim Ismail, Sinalo Jafta, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Delmi Tucker, Laura Wolvaardt, Tumi Sekhukhune. *Tazmin Brits on standby.


Group ‘A’ – Barbados, India, Pakistan, Australia
Group ‘B’ – England, New Zealand, Sri Lanka South Africa


July 29, Friday: Australia vs India – 11:00 AM
July 29, Friday: Barbados vs Pakistan – 6:00 PM
July 30, Saturday: New Zealand vs South Africa – 11:00 AM
July 30, Saturday: England vs Sri Lanka – 6:00 PM
July 31, Sunday: India vs Pakistan – 11:00 AM
July 31, Sunday: Australia vs Barbados – 6:00 PM
August 2, Tuesday: England vs South Africa – 11:00 AM
August 2, Tuesday: New Zealand vs Sri Lanka – 6:00 PM
August 3, Wednesday: Australia vs Pakistan – 11:00 AM
August 3, Wednesday: Barbados vs India – 6:00 PM
August 4, Thursday: South Africa vs Sri Lanka – 11:00 AM
August 4, Thursday: England vs New Zealand – 6:00 PM
August 6, Saturday: First Semi-Final – 11:00 AM
August 6, Saturday: Second Semi-Final – 6:00 PM
August 7, Sunday: Third place play-off – 10:00 AM
August 7, Sunday: Final – 5:00 PM

Where to Watch CWG 2022?

Channels: Sony TEN 1, Sony TEN 2, Sony TEN 3, Sony SIX, and Sony TEN 4 channels. Apart from Sony Network, DD Sports will also be available for live streaming. Commonwealth Games can also be accessed on Sony LIV App or Website.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Recent article