HomeBengal Pro T20 League 2024Bengal Pro T20 League 2024: Day 7 – Lux Shyam Kolkata Tigers,...

Bengal Pro T20 League 2024: Day 7 – Lux Shyam Kolkata Tigers, Harbour Diamonds Seal Commanding Wins

The Bengal Pro T20 League 2024, a premier women’s 20-over cricket competition in West Bengal is set to be an annual highlight in the sporting calendar.

This tournament showcases eight city-based franchise teams: Harbour Diamonds, Murshidabad Queens, Adamas Howrah Warriors, Lux Shyam Kolkata Tigers, Sobisco Smashers Malda, Rashmi Medinipur Wizards, Shrachi Rarh Tigers, and Servotech Siliguri Strikers.

A quick overview on Day 7 of the Bengal Pro T20 League 2024:

Match 13- Servotech Siliguri Strikers vs Lux Shyam Kolkata Tigers: Lux Shyam Kolkata Tigers Won by 7 Wickets

In Match 13 of the Bengal Women’s Pro T20 League 2024, the Lux Shyam Kolkata Tigers emerged victorious against the Servotech Siliguri Strikers by 7 wickets. The match, held at Jadavpur University Campus in Kolkata, saw the Strikers win the toss and choose to bat first. Their innings, however, struggled to gain momentum, culminating in a total of 86 for 8 in their allotted 20 overs.

Brishti Susanta Majhi and Priyanka Bala were the primary contributors with the bat for the Strikers, both scoring 29 runs each. Majhi’s innings included three boundaries, and Bala, who also served as the wicketkeeper, struck at a rate of 90.63. The rest of the batting lineup failed to make significant contributions, with only Samayita Adhikari reaching double figures, scoring 11 runs off 22 balls.

The Kolkata Tigers’ bowlers put on an impressive display, with Mita Paul being the standout performer. Paul claimed 3 wickets for 15 runs in her 4 overs, effectively dismantling the Strikers’ middle order. Ananya Halder and Priyosi Aich also made significant contributions with the ball, each taking 2 wickets. Aich was particularly economical, conceding just 11 runs in her 4 overs.

In response, the Kolkata Tigers faced some early setbacks, losing their captain Mita Paul for 16 and Aruna Barman for a duck, followed by Tithi Swarpan Das for 14. With the score at 37 for 3, the Strikers had a glimmer of hope. However, Ipsita Mondal and Mamata Kisku stabilized the innings with an unbeaten partnership. Mondal scored 28 runs off 35 balls, while Kisku’s aggressive 27 off 24 balls, which included four boundaries, accelerated the chase.

Team showed great effort in the Bengal Pro T20 League 2024. (Image: CAB)
The team showed great effort in the Bengal Pro T20 League 2024. (Image: CAB)

The Tigers successfully chased down the target in 14.5 overs, finishing at 89 for 3. The Strikers’ bowlers tried to keep the pressure on, with Snigdha Bag taking 2 wickets for 27 runs and Pampa Sarkar contributing with 1 wicket for 13 runs. Despite their efforts, the Strikers couldn’t prevent the Tigers from reaching the target comfortably.

Mamata Kisku’s all-round performance, particularly her decisive innings, earned her the Player of the Match award. Her quick scoring and ability to hold the innings together were crucial in guiding the Tigers to a well-deserved victory.

ALSO READ: Bengal Pro T20 League 2024: Day 1 Review

Match 14- Adamas Howrah Warriors vs Harbour Diamonds: Harbour Diamonds Won by 8 Runs

In an intense and tightly contested Match 14 of the Bengal Women’s Pro T20 League 2024, the Harbour Diamonds clinched a hard-fought victory over the Adamas Howrah Warriors by 8 runs at the Jadavpur University Campus in Kolkata.

The Harbour Diamonds won the toss and opted to bat first. Their innings began on a shaky note, with captain Sukanya Parida dismissed for a duck by Sushmita Ganguly in the second over. Despite the early setback, Sanshita Sumit Bishwas and Payel Vakharia tried to stabilize the innings but fell in quick succession, leaving the Diamonds struggling at 14 for 2.

Jhumia Khatun then took charge, scoring a patient 20 off 27 balls, including two boundaries, to anchor the innings. However, the Diamonds kept losing wickets at regular intervals, with Ganguly striking again to claim Khatun and Mouli Manik Mandal.

The middle-order contributions were modest, but Jhumpa Roy’s steady 19 not out off 21 balls and Ratna Barman’s 18 off 20 balls helped push the score to a competitive 100 for 7 in 20 overs. The Diamonds benefitted from 15 extras, which included 8 byes and 6 wides. Sushmita Ganguly was the standout bowler for the Warriors, ending with figures of 3 for 19 in her 4 overs. Dhara Gujjar and Diya Nandi also chipped in with crucial wickets to restrict the Diamonds to a manageable total.

Team showed great effort in the Bengal Pro T20 League 2024. (Image: CAB)
The team showed great effort in the Bengal Pro T20 League 2024. (Image: CAB)

In response, the Adamas Howrah Warriors’ innings mirrored the struggles of their opponents. Dhara Gujjar and Sushmita Ganguly got off to decent starts but could not convert them into substantial scores. Ganguly was trapped lbw by Riya Das for 15, and Gujjar was bowled by Jhumia Khatun shortly after. The middle order failed to build momentum, with Puja Rajak and Parama Mandal falling cheaply. Diya Nandi’s run-out, a result of sharp fielding by Marjina Khatun, further dented the Warriors’ chase.

Prativa Mandi provided some resistance with 17 runs off 25 balls, but her dismissal in the 18th over by Ratna Barman effectively ended the Warriors’ hopes. The Harbour Diamonds’ bowlers maintained tight lines, with Jhumia Khatun being particularly effective, taking 2 for 11 in her 4 overs. Sukanya Parida, Riya Das, and Ratna Barman also contributed with crucial wickets.

The Diamonds’ fielding was exemplary, resulting in three run-outs that played a significant role in curbing the Warriors’ progress. Despite the Warriors fighting till the end, they fell short by 8 runs, finishing at 92 for 8 in their 20 overs. This victory propelled the Harbour Diamonds up the standings, showcasing their ability to defend low totals through disciplined bowling and sharp fielding.

Bengal Pro T20 League 2024: Day 7– Points Table

Team Matches Won Lost Points NRR
Lux Shyam Kolkata Tigers 4 3 1 6 0.965
Murshidabad Kueens 3 3 0 6 0.682
Shrachi Rarh Tigers 3 2 1 4 0.136
Harbour Diamonds 4 2 2 4 -0.156
Sobisco Smashers Malda 3 2 1 4 -0.659
Rashmi Medinipur Wizards 3 1 2 0 0.263
Adamas Howrah Warriors 4 1 3 2 -0.369
Servotech Siliguri Strikers 4 0 4 0 -0.786


Bengal Pro T20 League 2024: Day 7 – Top Run-Getters

Player Team Runs Strike Rate Average
Mita Paul Lux Shyam Kolkata Tigers 130 104 65
Sandipta Patra Murshidabad Kueens 108 70.59 108
Kashish Vinod Agarwal Rashmi Medinipur Wizards 102 99.03 34
Sneha Gupta Murshidabad Kueens 89 83.12 29.67
Dhara Gujjar Adamas Howrah Warriors 85 94.44 28.33


Bengal Pro T20 League 2024: Day 7 – Top Wicket-Takers

Player Team Wickets Average Economy Strike Rate
Ananya Halder Lux Shyam Kolkata Tigers 8 9.38 5 75
Sushmita Ganguly Adamas Howrah Warriors 8 10.63 5.31 85
Mita Paul Lux Shyam Kolkata Tigers 7 8.71 4.36 61
Priyanka Prasad Murshidabad Kueens 7 5.43 5.43 38
Snigdha Bag Servotech Siliguri Strikers 6 14 5.25 84

Click Here to get the latest news related to Women’s Cricket. You can also check about Match predictions here. Like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more updates.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Recent article