HomeBengal Pro T20 League 2024Bengal Pro T20 League 2024: Day 2 – Lux Shyam Kolkata Tigers,...

Bengal Pro T20 League 2024: Day 2 – Lux Shyam Kolkata Tigers, Sobisco Smashers Malda Clinch Crucial Wins

The Bengal Pro T20 League 2024, a premier women’s 20-over cricket competition in West Bengal, India, is going to be a premier 20-over cricket competition.

This annual tournament features eight city-based franchise teams: Harbour Diamonds, Murshidabad Kueens, Adamas Howrah Warriors, Lux Shyam Kolkata Tigers, Sobisco Smashers Malda, Rashmi Medinipur Wizards, Shrachi Rarh Tigers, and Servotech Siliguri Strikers.

On Day 2, the Lux Shyam Kolkata Tigers and the Sobisco Smashers Malda secured crucial victories.

Here’s a quick overview of everything that transpired on Day 2 of Bengal Pro T20 League 2024

Match 3- Adamas Howrah Warriors vs Lux Shyam Kolkata Tigers: Lux Shyam Kolkata Tigers Won By 3 Runs

In a thrilling encounter at the Jadavpur University Campus, Kolkata, the Lux Shyam Kolkata Tigers’ team edged out the Adamas Howrah Warriors Women’s team by a narrow margin of 3 runs in Match 3 of the Bengal Women’s Pro T20 League, 2024. Opting to bowl first, the Adamas Howrah Warriors restricted the Tigers to 125 for 3 in their 20 overs.

The Tigers’ innings was anchored by a superb unbeaten 57 from their captain, Mita Paul, who faced 49 deliveries and struck five boundaries and two sixes, finishing with a strike rate of 116.33. The quick loss of wickets in the form of Tithi Das, Aruna Barman and Ipsita Mondal was far from ideal.

Supporting her was Mamata Kisku, who was also not out, contributing a crucial 53 off 48 balls, with seven boundaries and a strike rate of 110.42. Their partnership ensured the Tigers posted a competitive total after early setbacks. The Warriors’ bowlers, led by Sushmita Ganguly with figures of 2 for 20, did well to contain the batting side, especially in the early overs of the Bengal Pro T20 League 2024.

Chasing 126, the Warriors had a shaky start and kept losing wickets at regular intervals. Their captain, Dhara Gujjar, scored 22 off 25 balls, but no other batter besides Prativa Mandi could play a substantial knock. It was much later in the innings that Puja Rajak provided some hope with a quickfire 28 off 26 balls, but the Tigers’ bowlers kept a tight grip on the proceedings. Ananya Halder was the pick of the bowlers for the Tigers, taking 3 wickets for 23 runs in her 4 overs, while Ariktha Manna also chipped in with 3 wickets, conceding 26 runs.

Despite a late surge, the Warriors fell just short, ending their innings at 122 for 9. The match concluded with the Lux Shyam Kolkata Tigers securing a narrow victory by 3 runs. Mamata Kisku was named the ‘Player of the Match’ for her pivotal half-century which played a significant role in setting up the Tigers’ defendable total.

Match 4- Sobisco Smashers Malda vs Rashmi Medinipur Wizards: Sobisco Smashers Malda Won By 4 Wickets

In the fourth match of the Bengal Women’s Pro T20 League, held on June 13, 2024, at the Jadavpur University Campus in Kolkata, the Rashmi Medinipur Wizards faced off against the Sobisco Smashers Malda. The Rashmi Medinipur Wizards won the toss and elected to bat first, aiming to set a challenging target for the Smashers.

The Wizards had a modest start with Dyutit Pal scoring 9 runs off 9 balls before being run out by Piyali Ghosh and Riya Goswami. Trishita Sarkar managed 13 runs from 20 balls but fell to Piyali Ghosh’s delivery, trapping her leg before wicket.

Kashish Vinod Agarwal, the captain, played a steady inning, contributing 27 runs off 38 balls, including two boundaries before she was caught by Priyanka Goldar off Shreya Karar’s bowling. Preyasee Pandey scored 4 runs quickly but was dismissed by Shreya Karar.

Ankita Barman was the standout performer for the Wizards, scoring a brisk 36 off 33 balls with five boundaries, providing some much-needed stability to the innings. However, her dismissal at 16.3 overs, caught by Riya Kumari Mahato off Priyanka Goldar, led to a collapse. Shreya Roy added 6 runs from 8 balls before falling to Shreya Karar. The tailenders could not contribute significantly, with Tanuja Sarkar and Sanjana-Kumari adding 4 runs each. Rashmi Medinipur Wizards ended their innings at 111 for 7 in their allotted 20 overs.

Shreya Karar was the pick of the bowlers for Sobisco Smashers Malda, claiming 3 wickets for 22 runs in her 4-over spell. Piyali Ghosh also bowled effectively, taking 1 wicket for 13 runs in 4 overs, while Priyanka Goldar chipped in with a wicket as well.

Chasing a target of 112, Sobisco Smashers Malda had a shaky start. Ambika Guha was run out for 10 runs off 12 balls. Soumashree Bhowmik showed some aggressive intent, scoring 12 runs from 7 balls with three boundaries, but was caught behind off Preyasee Pandey’s bowling. Adrita Das could only manage 6 runs off 14 balls before being dismissed by Sanjana-Kumari.

Priyanka Goldar provided some resistance with a 25-ball 20, but her dismissal left the Smashers at 64 for 4. Piyali Ghosh then anchored the innings with an unbeaten 40 runs off 39 balls, guiding her team towards the target. Despite losing Hrishita Basu and Debjani Das in quick succession, Ghosh’s steady hand, along with Iti Sarkar’s 9 not out off 8 balls, ensured that the Smashers crossed the finish line. They achieved the target in 18.5 overs, scoring 112 for 6 in the Bengal Pro T20 League 2024.

For the Wizards, Sanjana-Kumari was the most successful bowler with figures of 3.5 overs, 19 runs, and 1 wicket. Preyasee Pandey and Trishita Sarkar also picked up a wicket each, but it wasn’t enough to prevent the Sobisco Smashers Malda from securing a victory.

Sobisco Smashers Malda won the match by 4 wickets, successfully chasing the target with 7 balls to spare, thereby continuing their strong performance in the Bengal Women’s Pro T20 League.

ALSO READ: Bengal Pro T20 League 2024: Day 1 Review

Bengal Pro T20 League 2024: Day 2 – Points Table

Team Matches Won Lost Points NRR
Harbour Diamonds 1 1 0 2 1.072
Murshidabad Kueens 1 1 0 2 0.522
Sobisco Smashers Malda 1 1 0 2 0.397
Lux Shyam Kolkata Tigers 1 1 0 2 0.150
Adamas Howrah Warriors 1 0 1 0 -0.150
Rashmi Medinipur Wizards 1 0 1 0 -0.397
Shrachi Rarh Tigers 1 0 1 0 -0.522
Servotech Siliguri Strikers 1 0 1 0 -1.072


Bengal Pro T20 League 2024: Day 2 – Top Run-Getters

Player Team Runs Strike Rate Average
Mita Paul Lux Shyam Kolkata Tigers 57 116.33 57
Mamata Kisku Lux Shyam Kolkata Tigers 53 110.42 53
Sandipta Patra Murshidabad Kueens 44 68.75 44
Piyali Ghosh Rashmi Medinipur Wizards 40 102.56 40
Ankita Barman Rashmi Medinipur Wizards 36 106.45 36


Bengal Pro T20 League 2024: Day 2 – Top Wicket-Takers

Player Team Wickets Average Economy Strike Rate
Shrayosi Pranay Aich Murshidabad Kueens 3 5.33 4 16
Payel Vakharia Harbour Diamonds 3 4 4 12
Shreya Karar Servotech Siliguri Strikers 3 7.33 5.5 22
Ananya Halder Lux Shyam Kolkata Tigers 3 7.67 5.75 23
Ariktha Manna Lux Shyam Kolkata Tigers 3 8.67 6.5 26

Click Here to get the latest news related to Women’s Cricket. You can also check about Match predictions here. Like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more updates.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Recent article