HomeBengal Pro T20 League 2024Bengal Pro T20 League 2024: Day 1 – Harbour Diamonds And Murshidabad...

Bengal Pro T20 League 2024: Day 1 – Harbour Diamonds And Murshidabad Kueens Register Comfortable Wins

The Bengal Pro T20 League 2024 is going to be a premier 20-over cricket competition in the state of West Bengal, India. Established in 2024 by the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB), the league features eight city-based franchise teams: Harbour Diamonds, Murshidabad Kueens, Adamas Howrah Warriors, Lux Shyam Kolkata Tigers, Sobisco Smashers Malda, Rashmi Medinipur Wizards, Shrachi Rarh Tigers, and Servotech Siliguri Strikers.

Inspired by the success of the Women’s Premier League (WPL), the Bengal Pro T20 League promises a thrilling experience for local fans and audiences. The league aims to unearth new talents from across the state, featuring top players who have competed in the WPL and on the international stage.

The competition will have all the men’s and women’s matches held on the same day at the same venues. The tournament consists of a total of 32 matches in the league stage in the Bengal Pro T20 League 2024.

Here’s a quick overview of everything that transpired on Day 1 of Bengal Pro T20 League 2024

Match 1- Harbour Diamonds vs Servotech Siliguri Strikers: Harbour Diamonds Won By 8 Wickets

In an engaging encounter of the Bengal Women’s Pro T20 League at the Jadavpur University Campus in Kolkata, the Harbour Diamonds Women’s team emerged victorious against Servotech Siliguri Strikers. Winning the toss, Harbour Diamonds opted to bowl first, aiming to capitalize on any early morning advantages the pitch might offer.

Servotech Siliguri Strikers began their innings with a cautious start. Opener Priti Mondal struggled to find momentum, scoring 8 runs off 19 balls before falling to Riya Das in the 8th over. Her opening partner, Brishti Susanta Majhi, managed 19 runs from 30 balls, hitting four boundaries but also fell victim to Riya Das’s effective bowling. Muskan Sinha contributed 12 runs off 21 deliveries but was bowled by Payel Vakharia, who proved to be the most effective bowler for Harbour Diamonds.

The captain and wicketkeeper Priyanka Bala provided a quick burst of runs, scoring 23 off just 13 balls, hitting four boundaries at a strike rate of 176.92, before being caught by Sanchita Adhikary off Vakharia’s bowling. Chandrima Ghosal remained steady, anchoring the innings with an unbeaten 24 off 22 balls, including three boundaries. Priya Pandey, however, did not score, falling first ball to Vakharia, who completed her spell with impressive figures of 3 for 12.

Samayita Adhikari contributed a modest 6 off 14 balls, not out at the end of the innings. With extras contributing 3 runs, Servotech Siliguri Strikers finished their 20 overs at 95 for 5, scoring at 4.75 runs per over in the Bengal Pro T20 League 2024.

In reply, Harbour Diamonds chased the target of 96 runs with relative ease. The innings was set up by Sanshita Sumit Bishwas, who retired hurt after a well-compiled 31 off 37 balls, including four boundaries. Her opening partner, Sanchita Adhikary, made 10 runs off 14 balls before being trapped lbw by Priya Pandey. Jhumia Khatun took charge of the innings, scoring an unbeaten 33 off 31 balls, with four boundaries, maintaining a strike rate of 106.45.

Captain Sukanya Parida managed 5 runs from 13 balls before being stumped by Muskan Sinha off Snigdha Bag’s bowling. Marjina Khatun provided a quick finish, scoring 9 not out off 6 balls with two boundaries, as Harbour Diamonds reached the target in 16.5 overs, finishing at 98 for 2 with an overall run rate of 5.82 runs per over.

The bowling efforts from Servotech saw Priya Pandey and Snigdha Bag each taking one wicket. However, the bowlers, including Jahanbi Raj Paswan, Pampa Sarkar, Chandrima Ghosal, and Mallika Roy, struggled to contain the Harbour Diamonds batters. The match concluded with Harbour Diamonds securing a decisive 8-wicket victory, showcasing a balanced team performance with both bat and ball.

Match 2- Shrachi Rarh Tigers vs Murshidabad Kueens: Murshidabad Kueens Won By 8 Wickets

In the second match of the Bengal Women’s Pro T20 League 2024, held at Jadavpur University Campus, Kolkata, Murshidabad Queens Women secured a comprehensive victory over Shrachi Rarh Tigers Women by 8 wickets.

Shrachi Rarh Tigers won the toss and elected to bat first but struggled to build a significant total, finishing their 20 overs at 84 for 9. Ankita Chakraborty, the captain, top-scored with a quick 26 off 24 balls, including five boundaries, but found little support from the rest of the batting lineup.

Parna Paul contributed 19 runs, while Dipa Das added a cautious 14 off 30 balls. The Murshidabad bowlers maintained tight lines, with Shrayosi Pranay Aich leading the attack, claiming 3 wickets for 16 runs in her four overs, earning her the Player of the Match award. Sneha Gupta also played a crucial role, taking 2 wickets for 20 runs in the Bengal Pro T20 League 2024.

In response, Murshidabad Queens Women chased down the modest target with ease, reaching 85 for 2 in 18 overs. Despite losing Priyanka Prasad for a golden duck to Chandrima Biswas in the first ball of the innings, the team recovered well with a solid 44-run knock from Sandipta Patra, who anchored the chase with seven boundaries.

Sneha Gupta added 15 runs before falling to Mamani Roy, while Priyanka Madhab Sarkar contributed an unbeaten 17 off 21 balls. The disciplined bowling attack of Shrachi Rarh Tigers, with Chandrima Biswas and Mamani Roy each taking a wicket, could not prevent Murshidabad from securing the win comfortably.

Bengal Pro T20 League 2024: Day 1 – Points Table

Team Matches Won Lost Points NRR
Harbour Diamonds 1 1 0 2 1.072
Murshidabad Kueens 1 1 0 2 0.522
Adamas Howrah Warriors 0 0 0 0 0
Lux Shyam Kolkata Tigers 0 0 0 0 0
Sobisco Smashers Malda Womens 0 0 0 0 0
Rashmi Medinipur Wizards 0 0 0 0 0
Shrachi Rarh Tigers 1 0 1 0 -0.522
Servotech Siliguri Strikers 1 0 1 0 -1.072

Bengal Pro T20 League 2024: Day 1 – Top Run-Getters

Player Team Runs Strike Rate Average
Sandipta Patra Murshidabad Kueens 44 68.75 44
Jhumia Khatun Harbour Diamonds 33 106.45 33
Sanshita Sumit Bishwas Harbour Diamonds 31 83.78 31
Ankita Chakraborty Shrachi Rarh Tigers 26 108.33 26
Chandrima Ghosal Servotech Siliguri Strikers 24 109.09 26


Bengal Pro T20 League 2024: Day 1 – Top Wicket-Takers

Player Team Wickets Average Economy Strike Rate
Shrayosi Aich Murshidabad Kueens 3 5.33 4 16
Payel Vakharia Harbour Diamonds 3 4 4 12
Sneha Gupta Murshidabad Kueens 2 10 5 20
Riya Das Harbour Diamonds 2 7.5 5 15
Sritama Nandi Murshidabad Kueens 1 5 1.67 5

Click Here to get the latest news related to Women’s Cricket. You can also check about Match predictions here. Like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more updates.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Recent article