HomeNewsSquad Announced For Women's T20 Challenge; Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana & Mithali...

Squad Announced For Women’s T20 Challenge; Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana & Mithali Raj Named Captains

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the squads for the upcoming season of the Women’s T20 Challenge. The tournament, which is scheduled to take place in the UAE between November 4 and 9 – comprised of three teams – Supernovas, Trailblazers and Velocity. Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana and Mithali Raj will lead the teams respectively.

While the domestic players of India got the chance to play, a handful of international players will be featured too. Leading players from England, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Bangladesh and New Zealand will take place in the four-match tournament.

Three squads consist of 15 members each, including four overseas players in each team. While Chamari Athapaththu, Shashikala Siriwardene, Shakera Selman and Ayabonga Khaka will play for Supernovas. Deandra Dottin, Sophie Ecclestone and Salma Khatun have been added in the Trailblazers team, along with Natthakan Chantham – the first Thailand cricketer to play in the tournament. Meanwhile, Danielle Wyatt, Leigh Kasperek, Sune Luus and Jahanara Alam have been added in the Velocity team.

ALSO READ: “Women’s IPL Will be a Big Achievement for the Country”: Jhulan Goswami

Notably, Thailand’s Natthakan Chantham became the first player to scored a half-century in the ICC T20 World Cup. On the other hand, Sophie Devine, Suzie Bates, Natalie Sciver, Stafanie Taylor, Amelia Kerr, Lea Tahuhu, Hayley Matthews – who were featured in the previous season, wouldn’t take part this year as the tournament will clash with the Women’s Big Bash League in Australia.

WBBL 06 will begin on October 25 and runs until November 29. While the clash will see the absence of other international players in the Women’s T20 Challenge, especially Australia players, renowned players like Alyssa Healy, Rachael Haynes and Suzie Bates were among who shared their views on the clash in schedules of the two competitions.

Meanwhile, the Indian players, who were last played in the ICC T20 World Cup final in March earlier this year – are asked to assemble in Mumbai on October 13. There they will undergo a nine-day quarantine before going to the UAE. Notably, this will be their first tournament after COVID-19 affected the sports events since mid-March. The 2020 Women’s T20 Challenge will start with last year’s finalist Supernovas playing against Velocity in the first game.

ALSO READ: Mithali Raj Asks BCCI to Start Women’s IPL by 2021

Squads for Women’s T20 Challenge:

Supernovas: Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Jemimah Rodrigues (VC), Chamari Athapaththu, Priya Punia, Anuja Patil, Radha Yadav, Taniya Bhatia (WK), Shashikala Siriwardene, Poonam Yadav, Shakera Selman, Arundhati Reddy, Pooja Vastrakar, Ayushi Soni, Ayabonga Khaka, Muskan Malik

Trailblazers: Smriti Mandhana (C), Deepti Sharma (VC), Punam Raut, Richa Ghosh, D. Hemalatha, Nuzhat Parween (WK), Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Harleen Deol, Jhulan Goswami, Simran Dil Bahadur, Salma Khatun, Sophie Ecclestone, Natthakan Chantham, Deandra Dottin, Kashvee Gautam

Velocity: Mithali Raj (C), Veda Krishnamurthy (VC), Shafali Verma, Sushma Verma (WK), Ekta Bisht, Mansi Joshi, Shikha Pandey, Devika Vaidya, Sushree Dibyadarshini, Manali Dakshini, Leigh Kasperek, Danielle Wyatt, Sune Luus, Jahanara Alam, M. Anagha



????? ? – ?????????? ?? ????????
????: ?:?? ?? (???)/ ?:?? ?? (???)


????? ? – ???????? ?? ????????????
????: ?:?? ?? (???)/ ?:?? ?? (???)


????? ? – ???????????? ?? ??????????
????: ?:?? ?? (???)/ ?:?? ?? (???)


????? ? – ?????
????: ?:?? ?? (???)/ ?:?? ?? (???)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Recent article