HomeBreaking NewsAnnabel Sutherland and Sophie Molineux Named in the ICC T20 World Cup...

Annabel Sutherland and Sophie Molineux Named in the ICC T20 World Cup Squad for Australia

Teenager Annabel Sutherland and Sophie Molineux on Thursday (January 16) have been included in Australia’s squad for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 as well as for the tri-series featuring India and England prior to that. They replace Nicole Bolton and Elyse Villani from the squad that won the title in 2018 in West Indies.

“We’re really pleased for Annabel Sutherland, who has been playing domestic cricket for a few years now, as well as being a part of Australia A and Under-19 sides. She has progressed significantly over the past few months,” said the national selector Shawn Flegler.

“Anyone who has seen her play will know how special a talent she is, and we know that if called upon she’ll be able to play a variety of roles in the side. This will be another terrific experience for someone who we see as the future of Australian Cricket,” she added.

Sophie Molineux, who had earlier taken a break during the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL), was included after her return in the WNCL.

“It’s also really pleasing to welcome Sophie Molineux back into the side, having spent some time out of the game for mental health reasons and getting her shoulder right,” added Flegler. “She was part of the side that won the 2018 World Cup and is a multi-skilled player that offers us another left-arm spinning option alongside Jess Jonassen.”

Beth Mooney, who had a wonderful WBBL, will play the key role in the batting department, which will be led by Lanning and vice-captain Rachael Haynes. Erin Burns, who missed some of WNCL matches, was also included after recovering from her knee injury.

“For most players this was one of the biggest selections of their career with not many people getting to play in a World Cup in front of a home crowd, but we’re really confident this squad can go out and defend its title and do Australia proud,” he shared. “We’ve had a really stable squad over the last few years and having players such as Molly Strano, Tahlia McGrath, Belinda Vakarewa and Heather Graham miss out illustrates the depth of Australian Cricket.”

ICC T20 World Cup Squad: Meg Lanning (c), Rachael Haynes, Erin Burns, Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy (wk), Jess Jonassen, Delissa Kimmince, Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Tayla Vlaeminck, Georgia Wareham.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Recent article