Thursday, February 2, 2023
HomeNewsFormer Australia Captain Lyn Larsen Recognised in Queen’s Birthday 2020 Honours List

Former Australia Captain Lyn Larsen Recognised in Queen’s Birthday 2020 Honours List

Former Australia captain Lyn Larsen was named a Member in the General Division of the Order of Australia (AM) for her significant service to the game as a player, selector, manager and coach at the elite level as well. She has played 64 matches from 1984-1992.

Lyn Larsen captained the side in 10 Test matches in which they had 5 victories. Larsen played in 15 Test matches, scoring 410 runs at a batting average of 41 with a high score of 86. She led the team in 53 games across Tests and One Day Internationals, including the title win in 1988 Cricket World Cup. Her leg-spin earned her

Not only this, but she has also contributed to the game and the community as an administrator at all levels from grassroots to international too. She was instrumental at the international level with the International Women’s Cricket Council as well and played a key role in the integration of the IWCC with the (men’s) International Cricket Council, which has helped a lot in the growth of the women’s game at State and national level in Australia.

In all,  of 41.00  She also bowled 354 overs of leg-spin helped to take 26 wickets at a bowling average of 18.73 as well. Lyn Larsen was inducted into the Sport Australia Hall of Fame way back in 1999. She was inducted into the New South Wales Cricket Hall of Fame in 2010 also. In 2013, she became the first female cricketer to be appointed to the Sydney Cricket Ground Trust.

Australia captain Meg Lanning (2nd right) with former Australian captains (L-R): Belinda Clark, Lyn Larsen, Margaret Jennings, Jodie Fields and Sharon Tredrea. Image: Michael Dodge – CA/Cricket Australia via Getty Images

Kevin Roberts, Cricket Australia CEO said, “On behalf of the Australian Cricket family, I congratulate these outstanding women and men who have served Australian cricket from the highest levels through to dedicating their time to developing the game at the grassroots level. This list recognises a group of outstanding Australians who have made a significant contribution to their community in varied roles across playing, coaching, medicine, music, education, local government and volunteering.”

ALSO READ: BCCI Nominates Deepti Sharma for the Prestigious Arjuna Award

“These individuals are the lifeblood of the community they live and work in and we are delighted to see that they are to be recognised for their great service to the game. Cricket is a richer game because of them. I wish to extended my sincere congratulations to everyone honoured in the Queen’s Birthday 2020 Honours List,” he concluded.

Apart from her, former Australia captain Michael Clarke was named an officer in General Division of the Order of Australia (AO), while 10 other members of the cricket community have also received the Medal of the Order of Australia in the General Division (OAM).



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

- Advertisment -